Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2010, 07:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

wires in box to short


ive run into this problem from time to time but was able to run a new length with ease, or wirenutted a small length onto the wire in the box. has anyone used these connectors to extend the wire? i always hear people knocking the backwireing or outlets and switches. this is kinda the same no? wondering if there safe or wise to use.
Attached Thumbnails
wires in box to short-200702_elecmistakes_004sz2.jpg  
bryan1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:16 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

wires in box to short


Have used these many times for just that reason; use them a lot when having to connect multiple grounds in a switch box too.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:08 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

wires in box to short


They're great. Some people bag on them, but I have used them a number of times in my home and others' homes with great success. I know of a number of pros that use the heck out of them as well. I say use them with confidence, they're listed and approved for what they're sold for.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 03:24 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

wires in box to short


I used both Americian and European verison of " Wago " connector and Genrally I don't have much issue with it but I use the wirenut as well so I go either way.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:45 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

wires in box to short


Go ahead and use them they are great.

Quite a few lighting fixtures such as cans have them.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 08:52 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

wires in box to short


I wouldn't entirely replace wire nuts with them personally....Forgot to mention that earlier. They're great when you're short on wire, short on space, or lack the skill to get a number of wires neatly twisted together in a wire nut. When I can use wire nuts, I do. But the wal-nuts are pretty handy in a lot of circumstances!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:37 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

wires in box to short


For what you are doing, they can't be beat.
Like KC said, I don't use them to replace wire nuts, but have run into short wire before.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:03 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 83
Default

wires in box to short


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
For what you are doing, they can't be beat.
Like KC said, I don't use them to replace wire nuts, but have run into short wire before.
I have not used them yet, and from the picture they don't seem to be much smaller than wire nuts, if that is the case how do they save any room in the box.
cjett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:16 AM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

wires in box to short


Those look really useful, what are they called? Do they sell them at big box stores?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 11:00 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,066
Default

wires in box to short


Ideal and Wago make a style like this. The Ideals should be widely available.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 11:06 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

wires in box to short


Quote:
Originally Posted by cjett View Post
I have not used them yet, and from the picture they don't seem to be much smaller than wire nuts, if that is the case how do they save any room in the box.
They don't save space in the box. I use them when the orignal wires are to short to get a wirenut on. The come in handy to extend the wire outside the box so the device can be installed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 11 08-16-2009 08:06 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
Short Wires sensen Electrical 3 04-01-2005 12:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.