Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 10:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wires to 2nd Floor... help..


I'm attempting to get about 7 cables up from the bsmt to 2nd floor attic in a 95 yr old home.

Running adj to the soil pipe is proving to be difficult, as there is only a small space next to the pipe, and the fire stops that hold the pipe from moving in the wall.

how do you drill holes in the 1st floor header (2nd floor baseboard area) from the bsmt or attic? Very difficult to get too.

Thinking along the same lines... somehow they (plumbers) get a new copper line up to the attic/2nd floor sinks... those are 3/4 holes...????

I've got 2 cables up, using a fiberglass fish tape, but the openings are now filled with the cables.

any thoughts/suggestions? The laundry chute/chimney chase is blocked, so that's out.

Preciate some thoughts...

Email might be easier...

thanks all !!

-Mark

-Mark


Last edited by Gary in WA; 06-09-2011 at 11:24 PM. Reason: Removed personal E-mail.
mlitt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:16 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,848
Rewards Points: 2,490
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wires to 2nd Floor... help..


Some times you have to patch holes after you are done.
One thing you could try is to remove the baseboard. Then cut a hole which will be covered by the baseboard when re-installed.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
mlitt55 (06-10-2011)
Old 06-09-2011, 11:23 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Wires to 2nd Floor... help..


My house is 200 years old and most of my walls are solid brick, so I have very limited options for running new circuits.

Two rules I abide by:
1. I always pull one extra run of wire than I need for the project. It really isn't that expensive and with only two real locations in my house to pull wire; I KNOW I will need the other putative circuit in the near future.

2. I drop line 'down' and then pull the wire up. I ALWAYS pull the line back up at the same time. That way, it is easy to pull a second cable up later.

Joed is right on the money with the baseboards. I did this two days ago. Pull baseboard, remove bottom five inches of plaster and lath, find useful joist bay, drill hole, and drop weighted line (I find this easier than fishing up).

When I'm dropping down from the third floor I make an opening the same way between the 2nd and 1st floor to get all the way down.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Leah Frances For This Useful Post:
mlitt55 (06-10-2011)
Old 06-09-2011, 11:35 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wires to 2nd Floor... help..


Welcome to the forum, Mark!

We are here to help everyone get the best possible help with their projects. That said, we encourage everyone to post questions and answers in the forum to benefit others, not just privately. This also gives the original poster more accurate information from a multitude of posters answering which usually are corrected if answered incorrectly with the reason explaining why. This educates all of us and is a benefit to learning the correct way (though sometimes there are many "correct" ways, some are better than others). This the reason I removed your personal E-mail, thank you for your understanding here. After a number of posts, members are allowed to "private message" other members for discussion privately, if interested.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
mlitt55 (06-10-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 12:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.