Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Wireless Switch


I would like to turn on and off my outside lights with a wireless switch (Transmitter and Switch).

The current switch is 70 feet away from the house in a separate garage
Load is 1000 Volt with 20 amp

Any idea's where to get this kind of switch ?

Any other options ?

Thanks
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 08:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Wireless Switch


I've had trouble with wireless things not working. People have even had trouble with their wireless keys not working for their cars.

The problem is too many wireless "signals" in the air and this can "jam" wireless devices.

Also metal walls, siding, etc. can interfere with the signals.

With that said, I would suggest going to a local home improvement store and buying something there. Then if it did not work, you could easily return it.

Otherwise online... Following is a google.com search for "home automation" and all sorts of web sites selling all sorts of gadgets for this...
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&s...=f&oq=&aqi=g10
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 08:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Wireless Switch


1000V at 20A? You sure?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 08:27 PM   #4
IBEW Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 29
Default

Wireless Switch


where are you getting 1000v at your house?
Scott3229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 08:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Wireless Switch


There is 100 amp subpanel in the garage. This subpanel is not being used for anything else.
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 08:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Wireless Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by indy View Post
There is 100 amp subpanel in the garage. This subpanel is not being used for anything else.
Your original post states a load of 1000V at 20A. Assuming this is a mistake, and you are just referring to a normal outdoor light, there are wireless transmitters and receivers that can be wired to outside lights. I had a security motion light that could be controlled by a wireless transmitter. Any home center should carry these and they are simple to install.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 08:19 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Wireless Switch


Maybe load is 1000 watts ? Normal household voltage is 120v
If high output lights - sodium, mercury vapor (?) they could be 240v

So (4) 250w lights = 1000 watts ?

Unless you have football field/skating rink etc outside your house
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 08:45 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Wireless Switch


My mistake, it's 1000 Watts max load for all the lights
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:46 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,674
Default

Wireless Switch


Most of the wireless switch units I have seen are rated 500 watts maximum, incandescent only. If you are using sodium vapor or other non-incandescent, chose your product carefully. Also be aware of the maximum power that the unit can handle.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 05:10 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Wireless Switch


if the lights you have are incandessent, go to www.x-10.com theyll have something to work for you. Ive had pretty good luck using their products in the past.
journeymanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.