Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 10:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 2
Share |
Post

wireing a new breaker to one room


i am a medical marijuana caregiver so i have alot of light wattage and right now my basement is all on one breaker along with my dishwasher upstairs. when i have a 600 watt light on and my girlfriend starts a load in the dishwasher every cycle it goes through flips the breaker,and i want to run a new breaker to just my room what amp breaker should i use if i could have up to 1800 watts. any help would be greatly appreciated

wolftickets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

wireing a new breaker to one room


Install a 20a breaker & run #12 wire (2400 watts)
Better to have the extra capacity & not trip the breaker

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 2
Default

wireing a new breaker to one room


thanks alot for that should i run that as a 2 outlet box or can i do more?
wolftickets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:22 AM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

wireing a new breaker to one room


You can put as many outlets as are needed, and in locations as needed, so long as you don't exceed the limits of the breaker (in USA).

Keep in mind that people never wish they had fewer outlets than installed - they wish they had more.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:23 AM   #5
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

wireing a new breaker to one room


Depending on how 'wet' your operation is, you might want to consider doing GFCI outlets, for added safety.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phantom breaker mihamih Electrical 5 01-13-2010 06:38 PM
Choosing colors for painting living room, kitchen Bugpals Painting 2 05-15-2009 09:19 AM
On bloody HOT room. rahlquist HVAC 30 04-20-2009 07:50 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.