Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2008, 08:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 85
Share |
Question

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Hello, I have a light in my dining room, kitchen and back door and I want to run them to one central location instead of having them spread out throuout the area. can someone explain how to wire these up? A picture would be great or link to a video tut.... Thanks!

oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:28 PM   #2
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


What exactly do you mean? Its a little vague as what you want. Do you want to move the wiring? switches? what?

__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 85
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Yes I wanted to move the switches to one location and put them all in one box.If I had a hot lead running to the box then how would I run the switches so that each light would have its own switch? I hope I explaind this better im new to wiring....
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:58 PM   #4
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


So you want to run the 3 lights, to 3 switches in the same box on the wall?

Multiple gang box? You pig tail the hots ..that will give you power to the switch/light
__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 09:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Depending on how these lights and switches are currently wired, you may have to completely rewire everything, as well as ensure the existing circuit(s) that are presently feeding these fixtures and switches continue to do their job.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 85
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


If I was to rewire everything which Im wanting to go that route then how would it get wired? Thanks!
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 07:18 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


It would depend on the actual layout of these fixtures and switches in relation to the orientation of the "easiest / least damaging route for new cable" stud and joist cavities. Electrically, a feed to the bank of 3 switches, and a 2-wire from each fixture to the 3-gang switch.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 08:43 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by oxicottin View Post
If I was to rewire everything which Im wanting to go that route then how would it get wired? Thanks!
I doubt you're going to get someone to really tell you how to do it. This place is geared towards answering more specific questions. Let me ask you a couple.

Do you know how they are wired now? You need to know if the existing switches are at the beginning or the end of each run. Do you know the difference?

If you were putting in a brand new switch in either of the above scenarios, would you know how to do it?

If you answered 'No' to any of my questions, I'd have reservations against this DIY project.

Re-wiring is much more complicated than new wiring. There are many factors that go into what seems like a simple project. For example, if the source of power starts at the switch and you can't permanently kill the power, you will have to put a blank cover on the box because you can't dry wall over the box that has 'hot' wires in it.

I know you probably don't want to hear this but I'd recommend you going with a professional.
__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 09:20 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Each single pole switch has two wires connected to it. And possibly a ground. You can extend those two wires from each existing switch to the new switch box and connect them to the new switch. Splicing them to the two wires you remove from the old switch.

However, usually you want a switch where you are entering or leaving a space. Such as a switch by the door for the outside light. Same for the kitchen light. You don't want to walk across a dark space to turn on a light.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 06:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 85
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


I got it working! I had the electriction where I work explain it to me and show me on paper! I was making a big deal out of nothing... Thanks for everyones posts on my issue!
oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 07:47 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by oxicottin View Post
I got it working! I had the electriction where I work explain it to me and show me on paper! I was making a big deal out of nothing... Thanks for everyones posts on my issue!
Glad to hear it worked out for you.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whirlpool Microwave light issue mustangcobra44 Appliances 8 08-14-2008 03:52 PM
Need to replace can light with standard light Woodcutter Electrical 3 02-29-2008 07:06 AM
Hall light worked before installing a new light fixture in bathroom jcfan7 Electrical 40 02-23-2008 09:46 AM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 09:44 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.