Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-12-2008, 08:26 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Wireing 3 diferent light into one box

Hello, I have a light in my dining room, kitchen and back door and I want to run them to one central location instead of having them spread out throuout the area. can someone explain how to wire these up? A picture would be great or link to a video tut.... Thanks!

oxicottin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:28 PM   #2
Master Of Nothing

What exactly do you mean? Its a little vague as what you want. Do you want to move the wiring? switches? what?

Old 05-12-2008, 08:32 PM   #3

Yes I wanted to move the switches to one location and put them all in one box.If I had a hot lead running to the box then how would I run the switches so that each light would have its own switch? I hope I explaind this better im new to wiring....
Old 05-12-2008, 08:58 PM   #4
Master Of Nothing

So you want to run the 3 lights, to 3 switches in the same box on the wall?

Multiple gang box? You pig tail the hots ..that will give you power to the switch/light
Old 05-12-2008, 09:40 PM   #5

Depending on how these lights and switches are currently wired, you may have to completely rewire everything, as well as ensure the existing circuit(s) that are presently feeding these fixtures and switches continue to do their job.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:34 AM   #6

If I was to rewire everything which Im wanting to go that route then how would it get wired? Thanks!
Old 05-13-2008, 07:18 AM   #7

It would depend on the actual layout of these fixtures and switches in relation to the orientation of the "easiest / least damaging route for new cable" stud and joist cavities. Electrically, a feed to the bank of 3 switches, and a 2-wire from each fixture to the 3-gang switch.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote