Wire For Underground/ Outdoor - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire for underground/ outdoor


I am putting a post lamp beside my sidewalk about 35' from my garage. I need to run a wire underground to this location. What type of wire do I need to use for this application. Does it need to go in conduit? Ive heard that outdoor romex in conduit is not acceptable. thanks

Advertisement

mharwell01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:01 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire for underground/ outdoor


If you GFCI protect it 1st you can bury UF wire (grey) in the ground at 12"
It must be protected where it enters the ground & where it comes up for the lamp post - grey electric PVC

You can put reg NMB in conduit (sized correctly) - BUT it is not rated to be buried in the ground or used under ground in conduit

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 11:16 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire for underground/ outdoor


thanks. the first outlet on the circuit is a GFCI. I plan to branch from one of my garage outlets to the lamp post. If I understand correctly, I just need to run conduit down the wall to the ground and then the wire only (no conduit) in the ground to the lamp post. And use UF wire.
mharwell01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

wire for underground/ outdoor


Quote:
Originally Posted by mharwell01 View Post
thanks. the first outlet on the circuit is a GFCI. I plan to branch from one of my garage outlets to the lamp post. If I understand correctly, I just need to run conduit down the wall to the ground and then the wire only (no conduit) in the ground to the lamp post. And use UF wire.
Are you using a switch, photocell or both?

Yes, protect the UF cable coming down the wall and also at the light pole.
Why not just run conduit all the way. You have to dig a trench anyway. You will not have to dig as deep and it makes for a much better job. I believe if the circuit is GFCI protected, the conduit only needs to be 12" deep. You will use separate wires, not cables if you go with conduit.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire for underground/ outdoor


yes the post has an outlet and a photocell. i can use conduit all the way. i was going to put conduit into the concrete base and elbow it to come out the center of the top of the base and into the bottom of the post. thanks for the info.
mharwell01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-15-2009 12:17 AM
What is the best way to wire this? RST Electrical 8 08-19-2009 12:29 AM
When wire needs to be outdoor / direct burial rated jamiedolan Electrical 23 02-25-2009 12:46 PM
Red wire is HOT genner Electrical 15 02-22-2009 09:14 PM
Indoor wire vs outdoor wire Potomac101 Electrical 2 12-31-2007 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts