Wire Type For Extensions To Reach Breakers - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


I just upgraded to a 200amp breaker box and some of the branch circuit wires were not long enough to reach down to the breakers. I bought some wire to make extensions and wire-nutted them on. They are copper and match the gauge of the circuit wires I extended.

I understand this is allowable, but now I am wondering if I bought the correct type of wire.

The following is printed on the wire:

SOUTHWIRE E23919 (UL) (AWG 12) 3.307 mm2 Cu TYPE THHN or THWN 600 V gasoline and oil resistant II or AWM VW-1 --- CSA T90 NYLON OR TWN75 600V FT1 NOM - ANCE 90 DEG C --- RoHS

Thanks!

Advertisement

broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 03:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


That is ok if you are in the states, but if you are in Canada, then I don't think you can splice in the panel.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Assuming you were extending #12 or #14 (20 amp or 15 amp) wires that is fine. Most people would remove the conductors from 12-2 NM cable and use that.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Yeah im in the states - didn't have any NM cable so I just went straight to the single wires. Didn't think anything of it until I remembered that some of that wire is only for cars.

So you think that type of wire is OK and should pass inspection?
broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:23 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


You are good with that.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:37 PM   #6
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


I went through this with my house when upgrading from old 100 amp to new 200 amp service panel. The service panel is considered as a junction box, and wire nutting longer wires in it is acceptable.

What I have found, when a homeowner does work on their house, the electrical inspectors will bully you.
I know the inspector I had, would nit pick any little thing that may be questionable.
If in doubt, it is only a few inches of wiring, just replace with exactly same wire you have now. Then they cant complain.
They will complain, but not about that.

I once had on a old house the electric meter base was old and needed to be replaced.
I replaced it and did it to code, The inspector told me "we can do better on the grounding"
The line men from the power company was standing there ready to turn me back on.
All they could do was shake there head. I sat all weekend with no power in January, They showed up Monday about 12:00 before going to lunch, still no re-inspection yet.
I showed them that I complied to the inspectors demands and they fired me up anyways. Told me they would loan me the tools needed to go to the inspectors house and turn his power off, as they were leaving.
Just do not give a inspector a chance to bully you, A licensed electrician they can not get away with it.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


No problems with the inspectors here. Had two different guys and they have been really helpful. Just don't want to make them have to come again to re-inspect.
broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Hopefully you used the same color wires for the extensions.......right?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Yes I did use the same color! I debated that but opted to do it.. It is required?
broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Think about it. If you were running a circuit would you change color as you went along? I guess a cheeshead would.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 10-24-2012 at 09:28 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:26 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by broecher View Post
Yes I did use the same color! I debated that but opted to do it.. It is required?
Nope
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:28 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


haha I'm still glad I did it. It would be chaotic if it changed colors!!
broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to broecher For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (10-24-2012)
Old 10-24-2012, 10:07 PM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Nope
Well... It's not required that he use exactly the same color, but the rules don't really give too much leeway. The grounds must be green or bare and the neutrals must be white or grey. The hots can be any color other than those - but it would be pretty odd to use blue/brown/orange/yellow so the practical choice is really black or red. He could have chosen ONLY black or red though, rather than using both. I would probably have just gotten a roll of black #12 for all the hots.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:44 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


That's interesting. I did have one wire that was funny. I'm in a 1960 house so there is old stuff but this wire looks 'new'. It has a white, a grey, and a thinner white that looks like it has two small conductors in it but when you strip it, there is only one conductor. I interpreted this as white = neutral , grey = hot, funny little wire = ground. The outer sheath was light blue. Does this wire type ring a bell? Should I post a pick?
broecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:52 PM   #15
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Wire type for extensions to reach breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by broecher View Post
That's interesting. I did have one wire that was funny. I'm in a 1960 house so there is old stuff but this wire looks 'new'. It has a white, a grey, and a thinner white that looks like it has two small conductors in it but when you strip it, there is only one conductor. I interpreted this as white = neutral , grey = hot, funny little wire = ground. The outer sheath was light blue. Does this wire type ring a bell? Should I post a pick?
I've never heard of such a thing, and would love to see it.

Advertisement

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wire type


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought wrong type of wire. Can I still use it? busterbluth123 Electrical 2 06-26-2012 07:22 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
breakers with multi wire branch circuit (shared neutral) corman Electrical 0 09-11-2011 12:52 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Breakers and Wire G3Aloha Electrical 2 06-04-2008 07:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts