Wire Staple Removal - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2006, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire staple removal


Need some advice please...
I have a ceiling fan that I want to move approx 8 feet from its current position. It is wired to a light switch on the other end. If possible I want to continue using the wall switch. I plan to move the fan 8 feet back toward the switch.
The wire goes from the switch up to the ceiling, then through holes that have been drilled in the joists, then runs lengthwise down the joist to the current location. I figure I should be able to pull the wire back through the joist holes, and run it down the joist closest to the new location.
The problem is, between the hole in the last joist (where it bends 90 degrees and runs to the current location) and the hole where the fan was, the wire is stapled to the joist ( as I am sure it should be ). I put a mirror and a flashlight up to the hole in the ceiling after I took the fan down, that is how I know it's there.
I can not pull the wire back through the other joists unless I get that staple out.
I am wondering how to get it out without cutting another hole in my ceiling to access it. We have a textured ceiling, so I really dont want to have to mess it up any more than I have to. The staple is about 4 feet down the joist from the box where the fan was.
Any suggestions as to how I might get that staple out without cutting another hole in the ceiling would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance, Max

Advertisement

madmax55555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 10:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wire staple removal


4ft away that sucks, usually it's within 12 inches of the box then you could probably get a long screwdriver to pry it out.

Perhaps you could just make a small hole right where the staple is, just big enough to get your screwdriver in there.

Advertisement

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wire staple removal


What is above this room? Attic space or another room?
Can you get access from above?

If not then you could splice another piece of wire onto to this peice to make it long enough to go to where you want it. Put the splice inside an enclosed box.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire staple removal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky Joe
4ft away that sucks, usually it's within 12 inches of the box then you could probably get a long screwdriver to pry it out.

Perhaps you could just make a small hole right where the staple is, just big enough to get your screwdriver in there.
Hi Sparky,

I was thinking of that, just trying to avoid it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline
What is above this room? Attic space or another room?
Can you get access from above?

If not then you could splice another piece of wire onto to this peice to make it long enough to go to where you want it. Put the splice inside an enclosed box.
Hi redline,

No , the fan is in the basement, so the space I am working in is between the basement ceiling and the upper storey floor.

As far as splicing, I don't think you understand my situation.

Here is a picture:




| | | | |
--------|
| | | | ||
| | | | ||
| | | | ||
|n | | |o


The orange shows the path of the wire. o is where the fan is now and n is where I want to move it to. The staple is about half way down the vertical orange length.
I want to move the fan 8 feet straight back from o to n, so the wire thru that joist is 6 feet away from where I want. I was thinking if there was some way to either remove the staple or cut the wire at the staple, I can cut the new hole at n and fish it back through. But I am not sure if I can achieve that. Whatever I do, I am hoping to do it from where o is, and not have to damage the ceiling any more than I have to. If I cut the wire I still have plenty of length to work with, so if I can figure out a way to cut instead of remove the staple, that works for me.
Hope that gives a clearer picture of what I am dealing with. I have tried putting a metal bar into the hole to see if I can make contact with the staple and then give it a whack with a hammer to try to loosen it, but I have not had much success, as the view is limited. I can not see the staple by looking into the hole, I have to face away from it and use a mirror and a flashlight to even see the actual staple. Trying to guide a metal bar with one hand while looking through a backwards view in a mirror is not very efficient.
Anyone with any bright ideas, I am listening....
madmax55555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire staple removal


On the advice of someone on another forum, my problem is solved.
He suggested a cold chisel on a long extension.
As previously mentioned, I had tried putting a metal bar into the hole to see if I could make contact with the staple and then give it a whack with a hammer to try to loosen it. That bar was in fact a 4 ft length of aluminum pipe. I had put a slight bend into it to reach the staple properly.
My cold chisel happened to be exactly the same diameter as the inside diameter of the pipe.
I put it in, whacked it a few dozen times, and VOILA, done deal !!!
Thanks to all who offered suggestions.
If anyone else runs into the same problem in the future, give this a a try.
madmax55555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 10:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wire staple removal


what's the name of the other forum, if I might ask?
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:56 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire staple removal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky Joe
what's the name of the other forum, if I might ask?
http://forum.doityourself.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9
madmax55555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 07:22 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

wire staple removal


The only problem with using a chisel is you may damage the wire and never know it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 06:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wire staple removal


As I understand it, the damged part would be removed

Advertisement

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM
What color wire is live? poggs Electrical 2 03-08-2005 06:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts