Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire solid or stranded


Remodling my kitchen. Putting in all new wiring. Code says i have to use conduit. No romex or bx. Can I use straned wire or does it have to be solid?

Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 10:02 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire solid or stranded


Are you under Chicago rules?

Even with that, I'm not sure they care but give a more accurate location. I know Chicago does have it;s own rules and they do differ from the rest of the world in some aspects.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 10:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire solid or stranded


I'm in carpentersville. Is it hard to find solid wire or am i just not looking in the right place. I can find stranded everywhere.
Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 10:27 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire solid or stranded


I never have problems finding solid. The problem is; I don't want solid wire. I prefer stranded in almost every application.


I thought I found something that said you were under the NEC but the exclusions you list sound like Chicago's code. I would hate to steer you wrong. We used to have a guy from Chicago posting but haven't seen him around for awhile. We do have Marc (frenchelectrician) that is up in Wisconsin. He might have a better idea. Last I knew he was in France so he pops up a bit later in the evening/night.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-16-2010)
Old 11-16-2010, 11:40 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire solid or stranded


I just look up that city and it pretty much on sholder of Chicago codes and the codes mention no NM but very limited on MC { metal clad }

The rest of question should be addressed at the City Hall and ask for electrical or building inspector they will give you more details.

Now speaking of conductors you can get them either way but I am not really famauir with the stores in that area will stock soild conductors but yes it can able get it.

Majtory of them will stock stranded conductors due it much easier to pull thru the conduit.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 06:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire solid or stranded


Thanks guys i will call the village.
Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 07:39 AM   #7
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,863
Rewards Points: 2,374
Default

Wire solid or stranded


Hi,I'm from So.Elgin----Solid or stranded should be fine--Do check with city hall--

I prefer solid for residential--the most common switches and outlets are easier to connect to solid.

You are looking on the wrong shelf--all the stores in this area carry both--Mike--

Color Coding Of Wires - DIY Chatroom - DIY Home Improvement Forum

This post lists the common colors used in our area---

Last edited by oh'mike; 11-17-2010 at 07:45 AM.
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:54 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire solid or stranded


Ya i found it at home depot.

Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 01:23 PM
Stranded wire in breaker? gma2rjc Electrical 3 09-25-2010 12:00 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 09:41 AM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 07:23 AM
connecting straight wire to stranded Cossack Electrical 5 07-30-2010 01:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.