Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2005, 10:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

wire size wire to 10kw furnace?


My code book suggests using # 8 wire with a 60 amp breaker to feed my 10 kw
electric furnace. I would of thought a # 6 wire would be the right size for this size of breaker. I always thought # 8 wire could only handle max 40 amps.
Could anyone explain this to me!
Thanks!

lochcarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 07:43 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,637
Default

wire size wire to 10kw furnace?


Your heater will pull 41.66 amps. 125% of 41.66 is equal to 52.07, therfore a 60 amp breaker is ok and leagal since they do not make a 52 amp breaker.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Size a Furnace super_man4471 HVAC 18 03-25-2010 09:12 AM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
how to wire an in-line duct fan on an arcoaire twostage furnace joecool1992 HVAC 1 06-22-2007 07:41 PM
Wire Size Help-400ft line to pond for fountain brownie47854 Electrical 14 04-22-2007 12:50 PM
Wire size for Central Air mwtuck HVAC 2 12-01-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.