Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2011, 08:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: N Tonawanda New York
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

wire size vs breaker size


I have an existing 240v circuit with 8-3 cu wire (not in use). It requires a 50a breaker, but I would like to use this for a 30a generator, that backfeeds back into my 200a panel that is equiped with a 30a generator throw switch.....question is, due to size of wire (8/3), can I install a 30a outdoor gfci for the backfeed, or do I need to install new 10-3 wire? Thanks

Jimster 481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:41 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,981
Default

wire size vs breaker size


Yes you can use an over sized wire wire for a smaller load. However I do not think you can back feed a GFCI.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

wire size vs breaker size


You cannot back feed a regular receptacle from a generator. You would need a suicide cord to do so. NOT GOOD!!!!!


Get a proper inlet.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,936
Default

wire size vs breaker size


You can replace the receptacle at the end of that 8-3 gauge line with a male receptacle (inlet), also replace the breaker with a non-GFCI double breaker. You must put an interlock system on the panel so both the breaker for that 8-3 circuit and the main breaker cannot be on at the same time.

In localities where cam-lever panel interlocks are not permitted, the transfer switch must be in the feed line for the main panel. This can require coordination with the power company to pull the meter when you are installing this tranfer switch.

If all of the circuits eligible to get generator power are in a subpanel, this 8-3 line can be rewired to a transfer switch in the feed from the main panel to the subpanel.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-20-2011 at 09:45 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 09:41 AM
Size wire for A/C, A/H and Range? tripflex Electrical 6 06-07-2010 10:38 AM
Size of Wire & type of wire agman Electrical 6 11-10-2009 08:13 PM
Wire Needed for GF / Arc Fault breaker jamiedolan Electrical 13 09-20-2009 08:15 AM
wire size for ac/heating forced air unit macfluke Electrical 2 03-04-2009 12:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.