Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2008, 03:05 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Share |
Default

wire size suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Your supposed to have a means of disconnecting the entire multiwire circuit at once, so you go with a double pole breaker as an easy way of doing so.
The disconnect has to be at the detatched structure.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Not to mention the requirement of physical protection of the wire and how you have to dig 24" deep if you go the romex way, 18" if you go with conduit.
This is not true, first off, you cannot use NM type cable, it would have to be UF, but certain rules apply that you just dont understand. here are the correct rules...

Name:  300.5.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  57.7 KB

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:04 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

wire size suggestions


The disconnect has to be at the detatched structure.

That is what I meant, I probably should have described it better.




This is not true, first off, you cannot use NM type cable

I always thought that uf was a type of romex, I know it is required in direct burial situations, wet locations, etc. and that type nm isnt allowed.

Thanks for the rules, I should have looked in the nec first, was in a hurry.

Last edited by rgsgww; 10-19-2008 at 04:10 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:09 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

wire size suggestions


Romex would be illegal to run underground, even if it is run in conduit. You must run UF (underground feeder) or conduit the entire run with individual THWN wires in the conduit.

Again, at my last post, I always thought that UF was a type of romex. I do know it is illegal to use type nm.

I was thinking of a different switch yes, a double pole switch would be good.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Aluminum wire size/ guage / amps? walt1122 Electrical 17 07-30-2008 10:44 AM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.