Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2008, 02:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

wire size for sub panel


What size and type of wire would be suitable for powering a 100 amp sub panel from a 200 amp main panel? Distance will be approx 40 ft with feed running through an attic. Location, Cleveland, OH.

DSimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 06:26 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,684
Default

wire size for sub panel


Do you need all the 100 amps in the sub? You could feed it with # 6 and use a 60 amp breaker in the main.

#2 al is what I use, and put it on a 90 amp breaker.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Aluminum wire size/ guage / amps? walt1122 Electrical 17 07-30-2008 10:44 AM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.