Wire Size To Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 09:17 PM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 77

Wire Size to Sub Panel

I have conduit installed to go from main panel to subpanel about 75' away.
Have been reading recommendations directed at THNN in #4, #6 and #8 sizes.

Installed conduit is 1 1/2"

I was at a big box store and they sell #3 THNN that is $0.10 per foot more than #4.

Main panel is 200 amp Square D and subpanel (already installed) is 125 amp GE. I would like to have 70 to 80 amp capacity for subpanel. Am I better off opting for the #3 wire?


George6488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
k_buz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006

Wire Size to Sub Panel

#4 is fine.


__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Phase Panel from Three phase 3 Wire Delta bsps Electrical 9 06-02-2012 08:44 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
What size wire for 100 amp sub panel Bean Electrical 7 01-24-2010 07:31 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts