Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 10:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire size


I want to run power from my home to a garage that I recently built. I have a 200 amp service in the house. I have 110 and 220 outlets in the garage. The only 220 I plan on running is a small air compressor. What size wire under ground should I use to run from the house to the building? I have a separate breaker (60 amp box) in the garage. The distance 125ft from the house to the building?

10agman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 11:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Wire size


Use 6 gauge copper wire. For separately run conductors in conduit the ground (4'th wire, required) can be 8 gauge.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
10agman (03-02-2011)
Old 03-02-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire size


Shoud I ground at new box in new garage of back to main box?
10agman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:40 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire size


you will need a ground wire form the house and to drive a ground rod at the garage.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
10agman (03-03-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size and type of entrance wire for 200A? Beemer533 Electrical 7 03-15-2010 11:54 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
What size wire do I have? 737Pilot Electrical 4 10-09-2008 10:47 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.