Wire Size 60 Amp Sub Panel 145 Feet Away - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2014, 02:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
bandaid1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Wire Size 60 Amp Sub Panel 145 feet away


New to the forum and I have been reading the posts but didn't find what I am looking for.

My question is this?
I want to add a sub panel to my workshop that is 145 feet away from main panel.

Is this wire size sufficient? 3 # 4 AWG (2 hot & 1 Neutral) 1 # 8 AWG Ground. I want to run THHN in 1 1/4 sch 40 conduit & have ground rod installed.
60 Amp panel based on load of 43A X1.25=53.75A rounded up to 60A

Largest Load
Dust collector 120v start up 22 amps and 14 running amps
Table saw 120v start up 21 amps and 6 running amps (will convert to 240v)

Thanks in Advance for your assistance.

Advertisement

bandaid1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 05:30 PM   #2
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Wire Size 60 Amp Sub Panel 145 feet away


I assume the conduit is buried. Where it comes out of the ground you might want to use schedule 80 where "it is subject to damage".

Advertisement

dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmclean701 For This Useful Post:
bandaid1998 (09-30-2014)
Old 09-28-2014, 07:45 PM   #3
Electrican
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 1,532
Default

Wire Size 60 Amp Sub Panel 145 feet away


Quote:
Originally Posted by bandaid1998 View Post
New to the forum and I have been reading the posts but didn't find what I am looking for.

My question is this?
I want to add a sub panel to my workshop that is 145 feet away from main panel.

Is this wire size sufficient? 3 # 4 AWG (2 hot & 1 Neutral) 1 # 8 AWG Ground. I want to run THHN in 1 1/4 sch 40 conduit & have ground rod installed.
60 Amp panel based on load of 43A X1.25=53.75A rounded up to 60A

Largest Load
Dust collector 120v start up 22 amps and 14 running amps
Table saw 120v start up 21 amps and 6 running amps (will convert to 240v)

Thanks in Advance for your assistance.
Sounds good. In theory you could go to #6 hot and neutral on a 60 amp breaker but your idea is even better.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
bandaid1998 (09-30-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel wire size hardgear69 Electrical 5 09-19-2012 01:15 PM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Wire size to sub panel zom Electrical 4 06-03-2011 10:46 AM
What size wire for 100 amp sub panel Bean Electrical 7 01-24-2010 08:31 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts