Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 07:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Wire Size


Good Morning Everyone...Just joined the forum...My question...I'm installing a 200 amp service panel in the stable I'm building....it's 270 ft. from the meter base....What size cable should I use???....Thanks....SkyWolf

SkyWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 08:01 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Wire Size


What does your POCO recommend?

Typically at over 250' most POCO's would suggest upsizing the wire from the standard 4/0AL or 2/0CU.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wire size greywolf6 Electrical 8 07-14-2008 09:08 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
Wire size for Central Air mwtuck HVAC 2 12-01-2006 05:06 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.