Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2008, 06:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

wire size


I am not sure of wire size I need to wire a heater 240 volt 38 amp about 10 ft run. also will a 50 amp breaker work safely?

greywolf6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 09:43 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by greywolf6 View Post
I am not sure of wire size I need to wire a heater 240 volt 38 amp about 10 ft run. also will a 50 amp breaker work safely?
A number 6 wire on a 50 amp breaker will work fine.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 11:19 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


unless this is UF, what is wrong with a #8 ?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 02:07 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
unless this is UF, what is wrong with a #8 ?
A agree and this is why....

If this is fixed electric heat then 424.3(B) applies.... 125% added to the branch circuit... 38 Amps x 125% = 47.5 Amps, looking at 310.16, #8 AWG is good for 50 amps @ 75C, as long as its not NM wire, which is restricted to the 60 column at 40 AMPS.

Last edited by chris75; 07-13-2008 at 02:12 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:36 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


I completely agree with you guys. I knew when I posted that someone would confuse the guy with facts. I am going with the #6 because he is putting in NM. How do I know? I don't. But like I said, the #6 will work just fine with a 50 amp breaker.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:10 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I completely agree with you guys. I knew when I posted that someone would confuse the guy with facts. I am going with the #6 because he is putting in NM. How do I know? I don't. But like I said, the #6 will work just fine with a 50 amp breaker.
I just hate people to spend money they dont have to, but you sure make an excellent point, I do admit that.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 05:56 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I just hate people to spend money they dont have to, but you sure make an excellent point, I do admit that.
Hopefully the OP will come back and let us know more details. I do agree about the money.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 06:57 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I completely agree with you guys. I knew when I posted that someone would confuse the guy with facts. I am going with the #6 because he is putting in NM. How do I know? I don't. But like I said, the #6 will work just fine with a 50 amp breaker.

My commercial/industrial mentality made me do it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 09:08 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
My commercial/industrial mentality made me do it.
I can relate to that Nap. I am working very hard to overcome that. I just switched to resi myself. I was just showing off my recent discovery of having to use the 60c column for NM.

__________________
John

Last edited by jrclen; 07-14-2008 at 09:10 PM.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
Wire Size Help-400ft line to pond for fountain brownie47854 Electrical 14 04-22-2007 12:50 PM
Wire size for Central Air mwtuck HVAC 2 12-01-2006 05:06 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.