Wire Size For 160' Feeder To Subpanel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2011, 11:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel


I am planning on running a subpanel to my shed the total length of the run will be 160' by reading all of the other threads i am assuming i will need a ground rod connected to the ground box on the sub panel.
but what type and size wire would i need to run from the house main panel. I would like a minimum of 30a 220v and max of 60a220v no real reason for 220 other than if im running the wires well why not.

so what size/type wire is recommended both for the feeder and the ground and what size ground rod would i need please specify for 30/40/60.

Thanks in advance,
Steve
i am not trying to be demanding just trying to be straight forward with what i am asking.

Advertisement

steveski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 11:42 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel


by the way i will be pulling permits and doing everything to spec. I just want to determine wire size/cost before i submit any plans

Advertisement

steveski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 09:31 AM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by steveski View Post
no real reason for 220 other than if im running the wires well why not.
There is a reason...
You will have more power available with smaller wiring.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 10:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel


run three #2 xhhw aluminum,and one #4 xhhw.the #2's are hots and neutral and #4 is ground.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
subpanel wire longrun


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 12:14 PM
What size wire do I need? walnut777 Electrical 1 12-13-2010 07:41 PM
Size of Wire & type of wire agman Electrical 6 11-10-2009 09:13 PM
wire size for ac/heating forced air unit macfluke Electrical 2 03-04-2009 01:29 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts