Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-13-2013, 12:43 PM   #1

Share |

Wire a single phase motor into a three phase circuit

My boss asked me to wire a single phase motor into a three phase circuit at our building. There are no single phase circuits nearby. He wants me to use one of the three phases for hot, and the ground for neutral. I asked him what we were going to replace the ground with, and he said the aluminum BX spiral sheath would suffice. I'm not an electrician, and not feeling good about this. It sounds like it would be against the code, and unsafe. I've been able to delay doing the job for another reason. But I have to do something soon.

Jimbosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:14 PM   #2
JW

It is certainly against code to use the ground as a current carrying conductor.

People get hurt doing stupid stuff like your boss is asking you to do

Hire an electrician to do the work correctly.

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:34 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

No, you cannot do that. You are right that it is unsafe and against code. It is rather concerning that your boss is asking you to do stuff like this. What is the voltage of the motor, and what is the voltage of the 3-phase service? If it is a 240V motor and a 240V delta service, you would just wire the motor between two of the phases. If that's not the arrangement, then it may be a bit more complicated.
Old 05-13-2013, 07:24 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post