Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2010, 08:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

wire shop outlets.


Hi,

I'm wiring a detached shop and I need to run wires along the wall to the outlets. The walls of this building are 2x4s on 16" centers. They then have 2x4 nailers on 2' centers up the wall and then the metal siding. Is there any reason I can't run the wire on top of the nailer in the 2" gap between the wall and the metal siding? Certainly would save me having to drill a bunch of holes...

Thanks,

Dave

tgidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 01:04 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

wire shop outlets.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgidave View Post
Hi,

I'm wiring a detached shop and I need to run wires along the wall to the outlets. The walls of this building are 2x4s on 16" centers. They then have 2x4 nailers on 2' centers up the wall and then the metal siding. Is there any reason I can't run the wire on top of the nailer in the 2" gap between the wall and the metal siding? Certainly would save me having to drill a bunch of holes...

Thanks,

Dave
Do not use the nailer board as you describing due the 1.5 inches clearance and some case someone will run a big screw and cut the conductor in cable or conduit format.

Are you plan to close up the wall after all the rough in is done or leave it open ??

For myself if open wall I rather run in MC cable or in conduit eitherway it work good.

{ I like the conduit the best due you can able change the circuit or arrangement without tearing the wall apart if all close up }

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 01:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

wire shop outlets.


Actually the walls will be insulated and covered with OSB. Since the outside walls are metal I don't imagine anyone will be putting nails or screws into it...

Dave
tgidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 02:40 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

wire shop outlets.


It's perfectly fine to run the wires there.

Altho drilling wooden studs isn't a big deal. After you lay out the boxes you can run thru a garage with a drill in 15 minutes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post

{ I like the conduit the best due you can able change the circuit or arrangement without tearing the wall apart if all close up }
Be honest! You like conduit best because it gives you more work and you make more money!!
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 02:02 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

wire shop outlets.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
It's perfectly fine to run the wires there.

Altho drilling wooden studs isn't a big deal. After you lay out the boxes you can run thru a garage with a drill in 15 minutes.


Be honest! You like conduit best because it gives you more work and you make more money!!
Yeah and not only that it did make more money but make the place look heckva alot nicer and my shop I allready ran conduit allover the place { yeah the reason why I have to do do that due it a commercal building on my lot and it allready wired with 480Y277 system in there}

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 08:03 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

wire shop outlets.


Well, it's done... We'll see what the inspector says. I routed the wire so it will be fairly easy to change if the inspector has a problem with it.

Thanks, all, for the input.

Dave

tgidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.