Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2008, 11:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


I have a 6x12 enclosed trailer with two AC's, a computer, etc in it I use for work. I plan to power it with an 10000 watt generator.

I am wanting to make an extrension cord about 75 feet long to connect the panel in the trailer to the generator.

If I understand it correctly the generator being 10000 watts, is rated that at 240v. Thus each leg or wire only carries 5000 watts, and at 120 volts that is 42 amps. Is this correct?

This would lead me to believe that 6 guage wire would be ok?

Just want to make sure I get the right stuff. You definitely don't want to go too small but with copper prices you can't afford to buy more than you need either.

bdog1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:00 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by bdog1234 View Post
I have a 6x12 enclosed trailer with two AC's, a computer, etc in it I use for work. I plan to power it with an 10000 watt generator.

I am wanting to make an extrension cord about 75 feet long to connect the panel in the trailer to the generator.

If I understand it correctly the generator being 10000 watts, is rated that at 240v. Thus each leg or wire only carries 5000 watts, and at 120 volts that is 42 amps. Is this correct?

This would lead me to believe that 6 guage wire would be ok?

Just want to make sure I get the right stuff. You definitely don't want to go too small but with copper prices you can't afford to buy more than you need either.
You likely don't have an outlet on the generator rated at more than 30 A. The 10,000 watts comes from using a combination of the receptacles on it. A single cord won't be able to deliver more than 30 A, so size it to that. #10 would work, but if you expect to have a large load on it, then maybe #8.

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 05:57 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


It also depends on the inlet receptacle on the trailer.

Is it hard wired, or do you run cords right into the trailer?

My trailer is hard wired for power and light, with a flush recessed male plug mounted in a deep box cut into the outside of the trailer.
I flip open the cover and plug the end of a cord in. No cords running through doors.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 10:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


I have heard computers and generators don't mix well. I hope it is not true as I plan to use my computer when we have another ice storm.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 11:30 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


I have a 100 amp panel mounted inside the trailer and the extension cord will be hard wired to it. I have a small hole cut in the floor I run the wire through. I use a pipe plug to plug it off when on the road.

As to the computer I have it set up on a UPS of sorts. The computer is plugged in to a 1000 watt xantrex prosine inverter, connected to an optima battery, charged by a multisatge battery charger. This isolates the computer from power spikes and even allows it to run for up to 30 minutes or so if the generator runs out of gas, we need to change the oil on it, etc.
bdog1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 11:51 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by bdog1234 View Post
I have a 100 amp panel mounted inside the trailer and the extension cord will be hard wired to it. I have a small hole cut in the floor I run the wire through. I use a pipe plug to plug it off when on the road.
Then simply size the cord according to the receptacle it will be plugged into.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:20 PM   #7
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Default

wire requirements for generator cord


when you go get your wire . . .get the SO cord material ( Extension cord material ) becuase it is starnded with much finer starnds...many more strands and carries more current than using basic commercial Copper stranded . . . . . .I have a similar situation but did install a plug box ..and an extention cord of stranded copper would be stolen the first night . .

Yes computers do not like the box or square wave from basic inverters
. .you have the same set-up ..inverter wise ...to provide true sine wave for computer...charging tool packs etc

Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 01:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.