Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 03:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


I am installing a heater in my garage it is rated at 15 amps with 205 volts. Do I need 14 gauge wire or 12 gauge wire?

fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:21 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,252
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Required wire size for under 600 volt appliances is determined by the amperage. In your case, 15A could in theory work with 14 gage, but I always use 12 gage and put in a 20A breaker. You will save a few cents with 14 gage, but you are right at code limit.

By the way, I have never heard of a 205 volt appliance. Where are you planning to get 205 volt service?

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


I went with 12 gauge wire and a 15 amp double poll as it is 208 volts 2500 watts. It is a heater that I bought online from Vanoc ( Vancouver Olympic committee) it was brand new in the box. It is an INFRATECH heater made in the USA. It also states on the wiring diagram that it is 240 Volts A/C 3600 watts max,15 amps max.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:37 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


because of the voltage, you have a problem. As Daniel stated, there is no such voltage supply as 205 volts. Due to that, you need to verify the required voltage of the heater.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


I am taking the readings right off of the sticker on the heater itself. It states 208 volts,2500 watts.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:41 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Fixed electric heating is required to be figured at 125% of the load, so #14 on a 15A breaker will not suffice.

IF the actual load is 15A you can and should use 12/2 on a two-pole 20A breaker.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:41 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
I am taking the readings right off of the sticker on the heater itself. It states 208 volts,2500 watts.
well, 208 volts is not 205 but besides that;

what is your supply voltage in the building you are installing this?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:42 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


That changes things. I for one would not use a 208V heater in a 240v application. Others might.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:42 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Fixed electric heating is required to be figured at 125% of the load, so #14 on a 15A breaker will not suffice.

IF the actual load is 15A you can and should use 12/2 on a two-pole 20A breaker.

pete, he has a 208 volt rated heater. If he has 240 volts supply, he cannot (legally) hook it up to his supply.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:43 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Besides, 2500 watts @ 208v is 12 amps.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:43 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Seems the paper work and the sticker on the appliance are not saying the same thing, so I will have to check this out further.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:44 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
pete, he has a 208 volt rated heater. If he has 240 volts supply, he cannot (legally) hook it up to his supply.
I didn't see that before I posted. I was a few minutes behind. I had to go away from my desk and then I posted.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:56 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I didn't see that before I posted. I was a few minutes behind. I had to go away from my desk and then I posted.
ya. every time I posted, I would come back and something else was added. Just kind of cross posting.

It's all cool. this way the OP gets the point...X2.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:10 PM   #14
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


I would contact the manufacturer and ask if it will handle 240 volts ok. You may be able to do it but it will draw more amps but probably not much more then what it's rated for. I'd use 12/3 with a 20 amp breaker, just to future proof that circuit for either another heater later on,or other appliance that may need the neutral too.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:12 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wire requirements for 15 amp 205 volts


Quote:
Red Squirrel;513128]I would contact the manufacturer and ask if it will handle 240 volts ok.
legally that is not acceptable. You cannot hook up an appliance to a voltage it is not rated for. A manufacturer would be foolish for saying it's ok. The liability would be horrendous.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
ROMEX 14-2 wire from Canada Vs. ROMEX 14-2 wire from the U.S. Dazzlin Electrical 14 06-04-2010 07:51 AM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 02:37 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.