Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 06:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wire pulling help.. alum FMC


I am trying to pull 4 10 ga wires through 1/2" FMC, and not hving luck/ I got a HF fish tape.metal and the end hook only fits 2 wires unless i held it open wiht needle nose. after looking at all 4 bend wire on end of hook i realized its too big of a ball of S%%% to fit through the conduit!. then i tried takingold nylon rope to end of fish then tyins 4 sepereat knots in rope..it snapped on 1st tug. 4 strands is legal..how the hell are you supposed to run them through?

1488rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

wire pulling help.. alum FMC


How far are you trying to pull them?

You need to stagger the wires.

Strip off about 12" on one wire, then tie that to the fish tape.
Make 3 loops about 3-4" apart and tie each other wire to a loop.
Tape it up and pull.

You may need someone to help, because pulling through FMC alone for over 4-5' is hard.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wire pulling help.. alum FMC


never mind i dont know if anyone answered but i didnt even need afish tape! i had twowires bent on fish tape and the other two i taped inline with the hook ends and taped them seperateley toeach other wire like two bundles. the tape tehm wnet over the two bundles.I ended up pushing them all teh way through! It aws probably harder to pull because the wire was fed from the breaker panal and more stress against the wire. worked great!

I see i had an answer//only 20 ft//and i didnt have to waste a foot of wire though i was using remnants

Last edited by 1488rob; 03-24-2011 at 08:36 PM.
1488rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
Wire Gauges, Amps and Small Fixtures RedBear Electrical 1 11-06-2010 11:45 AM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.