Wire Nuts - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2011, 09:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire Nuts


I just installed new lights above my mirror in the bathroom and black and white wires come out of the fixture on the left side and the box that has the hot and neutral wires are on the right side, so when I wire nut the wires together, they don't make back into the box. Is it OK to have the wire nuts behind the fixture?

Advertisement

howard.wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,309
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Wire Nuts


If I understand what you are saying, you have wire nutted the hot and neutral outside the box. If that is what you are saying, no it is not code, and it is not safe. All connections must be made inside an approved box. If the wire is not long enough, your options include running a new wire from the panel to the fixture, or installing an accessible junction box to make the connection.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 10:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire Nuts


Do you know how the wires are terminated within a fixture? My only option would be to run longer wires from the fixture so it reaches the existing box.
howard.wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 01:49 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire Nuts


this sounds really messed up. pictures please?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 02:28 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire Nuts


First thing pics please .,

Second thing some lightbar or luminaires itself have build in junction box room so some can get awawy without a junction box however that is kinda a grey area depending on how it run.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Wire Nuts


What I would do: Open the back of the fixture. Cut a length of 12-2* cable to reach from the junction box to enter the fixture through its wire opening. Inside the fixture, splice the wires together.

Caution, the cable must not pass through an opening with sharp edges. You may need to enlarge the wire opening to fit a larger grommet inside so the (larger) 12-2 cable can pass through. The fixture may have a 5/8 inch round hole with a bend-off cover in which you can put a Romex cable clamp as an alternative to using the small hole where the fixture's own wires came out.

* If the light is fed by a 15 amp 14 gauge cabled circuit that does not serve receptacles in the bathroom then you can use 14-2.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Dimmer switch with Hot & Neutral wire ? Knucklez Electrical 3 12-28-2010 05:24 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Are wire nuts needed? mopowers Electrical 11 12-17-2009 12:44 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts