Wire Nuts - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 03:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Wire Nuts


Per code, how many conductors are allowed to be connected via wirenuts? I speaking of 14 gauge wire.

Advertisement

handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:53 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,547
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire Nuts


Depends on the wirenut. Permissible numbers and gauge combinations are listed on the wirenut packaging.

Advertisement

HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 04:45 PM   #3
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire Nuts


Handy, As many as you can cram under 'em!


Just kidding. Look at the package, As HH suggests. Also, use some common sense. Install the wirenut. Can you see bare copper? If, when you tug on the wirenut hard, does the tap come apart or does it stay together? Do you "feel" good about it after it is done?
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
Handy, As many as you can cram under 'em!


Just kidding. Look at the package, As HH suggests. Also, use some common sense. Install the wirenut. Can you see bare copper? If, when you tug on the wirenut hard, does the tap come apart or does it stay together? Do you "feel" good about it after it is done?
Hello.

I didn't buy the wirenuts. I was connecting up some smoke detectors that were not connected. In my basement, I had one that was powered, and two unpowered. Upon removing the one with power, I discovered a 14-3 wire that was not connected, so I connected this to the loop. The other smokes turned on. The wire nuts seem heavy duty, with flanges.

The main smoke had one in and one out, one for the interconnect, and another one, and then the stranded wires for the smoke's connector. That makes 4 conductors and one stranded wire for the smoke's connector for 2 wire nuts (hot and neutral). The wire nut felt fine after it was screwed together. Just wondering if there's any chance of overheating.
handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 06:40 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire Nuts


The key to electrical connections is TIGHT. Let me repeat. TIGHT.

If you are confident all the wires are connected to one another TIGHTLY then there is no chance of overheating from the wirenut.

Loose connections burn down homes. Arcing is bad.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 02:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts