Wire Multiple Lights Controlled By 4-way Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 10:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Hello.

I'm planning on installing 6 pot lights and I want them controlled by 3 switches (4 way wiring)


This is what I was thinking.


Power(2-wire #14) --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 3-Way Switch) --> 3-Wire#14 --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 4-Way Switch) --> 3-Wire#14 --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 3-Way Switch) --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight1 --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight2 --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight3 -->

This is in Canada. I'll be using double face plats with 1 side solid and the other open for the switch due to box fill calculations.

Does that look correct?

Also in regards to wiring the the lights due I use the black wire coming in and the black wire going out and add a short 4"+/- black wire and merit them all together than connect the end of the 4" black wire to the light or can I do away with the extra 4" wire? (black or white wires)

Thanks

Advertisement

mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Looks right to me.

If the existing wire from the light socket will reach, then you may tie that directly to the other wires entering the connection box for the pot light. No extra 4 inch piece needed.

Advertisement

AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 01:03 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mfleming View Post
Hello.

I'm planning on installing 6 pot lights and I want them controlled by 3 switches (4 way wiring)


This is what I was thinking.


Power(2-wire #14) --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 3-Way Switch) --> 3-Wire#14 --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 4-Way Switch) --> 3-Wire#14 --> 2 Gang 3"x2-1/2" (1 3-Way Switch) --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight1 --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight2 --> 2-Wire#14 --> PotLight3 -->

This is in Canada. I'll be using double face plats with 1 side solid and the other open for the switch due to box fill calculations.

Does that look correct?

Also in regards to wiring the the lights due I use the black wire coming in and the black wire going out and add a short 4"+/- black wire and merit them all together than connect the end of the 4" black wire to the light or can I do away with the extra 4" wire? (black or white wires)

Thanks
Sounds right to me. Use all the same brand of switch, makes it easier to figure out the correct placement of the wires.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 02:09 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


You shouldn't need double boxes to meet box fill. You only have two cables going into each box. How did you determine your fill count?
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 03:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Looks good. Its always 3 way at beginning, 4 ways in the middle, 3 way at end.

You don't need the double boxes. Or are there more wires?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 03:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


The Ontario code allows 7 conductors in a standard, single gang switch box.
Plus any grounds from NM cable.
As already noted, 2 gang boxes wouldn't normally be required!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:40 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


I will use your middle box as this is the box with the most wires.

2 14/3 with a switch
6 wires=6 conductors(you don't count the ground wire only insulated wire)
1 wire nut(neutral)=1 conductor
switch=2 conductors

So a total of 9 conductors and that will fit into a 3x2x3.

Now if Ontario has there own rules for this it could be different
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I will use your middle box as this is the box with the most wires.

2 14/3 with a switch
6 wires=6 conductors(you don't count the ground wire only insulated wire)
1 wire nut(neutral)=1 conductor
switch=2 conductors

So a total of 9 conductors and that will fit into a 3x2x3.

Now if Ontario has there own rules for this it could be different
All he needs is a 14/3 in and a 14/3 out for a total of six.
The red and blacks connect directly to the switch and as you say the white neutrals are wired together!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Quote:
The red and blacks connect directly to the switch and as you say the white neutrals are wired together!

Or, on the service call I did today, the blacks and white go to the switch and the reds are wired together for the neutral

This was relatively NEW construction. It functioned and had nothing to do with the problem (loose wire on terminal) but really confused me.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:27 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Here is a diagram and just parallel additional lights on to the end...

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:45 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
All he needs is a 14/3 in and a 14/3 out for a total of six.
The red and blacks connect directly to the switch and as you say the white neutrals are wired together!
I was figureing out his box fill for him, obviously there is physicaly only 6 wires but i was takeing into account his switch and marrette.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 08:42 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I will use your middle box as this is the box with the most wires.

2 14/3 with a switch
6 wires=6 conductors(you don't count the ground wire only insulated wire)
1 wire nut(neutral)=1 conductor
switch=2 conductors

So a total of 9 conductors and that will fit into a 3x2x3.

Now if Ontario has there own rules for this it could be different
One wire nut counts as 0. 2-3 counts as one.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:41 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


My current gang boxs are 12.6 for the fill. I used a fill calculator I go off the net.

2 for each conductor, (2-14/3 = 6 6*2 = 12) So 12 plus the switch, plus the merrit and I'm over 12.6. They are standard Iberville gang boxes from Home Depot on Rona.

http://www.homedepot.ca/webapp/wcs/s...k=P_PartNumber

Last edited by mfleming; 11-18-2008 at 12:43 AM. Reason: Added Link
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:49 AM   #14
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


You need the single gang boxes with the bulges on the sides. The bulges give added capacity.
Here it is. The 3 inch version has a fill cap of 18. The 2.5 inch version has fill cap of 16.


Last edited by joed; 11-18-2008 at 08:56 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:46 AM   #15
Newbie
 
chatterbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?


here is another. I just like the way it looks.
Attached Thumbnails
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch?-4waypw3rdfd3rd-next-1.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by chatterbass; 11-18-2008 at 11:49 AM.
chatterbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 09:08 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts