Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


I have a LEM .35hp meat grinder that did not come with reverse. It is a PITA to use and not have reverse. It is a 120v 250w motor, w 2 caps. There is no schematic on the cover, so I have no idea what which wire goes to where. I plan on using a DPDT switch to reverse it. on-off-(on or mom) switch. I have attached pictures of the motor wiring. White/black come in then go into motor. White comes out of motor then to larger cap, other wire from large cap goes to red (into motor). Red comes out of motor into smaller cap, second wire to small cab is blue going into motor.

http://i1086.photobucket.com/albums/...n/IMAG0021.jpg
http://i1086.photobucket.com/albums/...n/IMAG0020.jpg
http://i1086.photobucket.com/albums/...n/IMAG0022.jpg
Any help would be appreciated.


Last edited by speedee12; 05-04-2012 at 10:31 PM.
speedee12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


What makes you think that motor is reversible? Not all motors are, in fact most are not. You need a schematic for that motor.....that will tell you if indeed it is reversible and also what the voltage requirements are.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
plummen (05-04-2012)
Old 05-05-2012, 02:35 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


Post the model number of that motour and looks like a IEC format and this one I doubt that is a reverseable type at all.

So look at the nameplate to see what it say on that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


Thanks
Per the name plate

Single phase induction motor
Type YYL63M-4B5
VOLT 120V
FRE 60HZ
KW .25
DUTY TYPE S1

This was the only markings that I could find, but I could try to look a little more (disassemble the motor more)

Last edited by speedee12; 05-05-2012 at 09:42 PM.
speedee12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


Some fractional motors can be reversed and some not!

The ones that can be reversed will have both the run and start windings brought out to the terminal board.
The start winding leads have to be interchanged in relation to the run winding leads.
A double pole, double throw switch is required if you wish to switch back and forth.

http://www.ehow.com/how_8037728_chan...ase-motor.html
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


So do you think that if I switch the red/blue wires on the smaller cap it will run in reverse?- the smaller cap is "floating" in the box and has push connectors, while the larger cap is screwed down and has solid connectors.
Basically what wires are for start and which do you think are for run?
I am not sure if you can tell by the pix but the one cap is smaller and insulated w foam. Why the different size/insulated cap?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Some fractional motors can be reversed and some not!

The ones that can be reversed will have both the run and start windings brought out to the terminal board.
The start winding leads have to be interchanged in relation to the run winding leads.
A double pole, double throw switch is required if you wish to switch back and forth.

http://www.ehow.com/how_8037728_chan...ase-motor.html

Last edited by speedee12; 05-05-2012 at 10:16 PM.
speedee12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire motor for reverse operation


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedee12 View Post
So do you think that if I switch the red/blue wires on the smaller cap it will run in reverse?- the smaller cap is "floating" in the box and has push connectors, while the larger cap is screwed down and has solid connectors.
Basically what wires are for start and which do you think are for run?
I am not sure if you can tell by the pix but the one cap is smaller and insulated w foam. Why the different size/insulated cap?
I searched capacitor start motors and didn't really find an answer to your question. In some designs an integrated circuit is used to control start up.
Its had for me to see, but it appears from your photos that you may have an i/c built into yours.

I trained as an electrician and just have a general idea of motor theory. A motor specialist may be able to advise you properly.
Its my hunch, that if its possible to install a reversing switch on your motor, that the manufacturer would be the best source of how to do this.
Its my uneducated opinion that it wouldn't be possible with this particular setup.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.