Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-13-2012, 04:49 PM   #1

Share |

wire mess :(

I am maintenance man for a beat up old hotel and the wiring is a mess!

I am not an electrician but can do minor repairs but just can't figure this one out... I have one room that has power to the switches, plugs and light but when I plug anything in, it doesn't work.
same with the lights. I flip the switch and nothing. both the black wire and white wires have power to them in all the lights, plugs and switches. what's wrong ?? also, the exit sign right outside the door to the room must be on the same circuit because it has the same problem and we really need that sign to work!

I unhooked the sign and checked it elsewhere and it works fine. when I hooked it back up it came on for a cpl seconds then went out...HELP PLEASE!

Last edited by oh'mike; 12-14-2012 at 10:53 AM. Reason: added spaces
gavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavman View Post
I am maintenance man for a beat up old hotel and the wiring is a mess! I am not an electrician but can do minor repairs but just can't figure this one out... I have one room that has power to the switches, plugs and light but when I plug anything in, it doesn't work. same with the lights. I flip the switch and nothing. both the black wire and white wires have power to them in all the lights, plugs and switches. what's wrong ?? also, the exit sign right outside the door to the room must be on the same circuit because it has the same problem and we really need that sign to work! I unhooked the sign and checked it elsewhere and it works fine. when I hooked it back up it came on for a cpl seconds then went out...HELP PLEASE!