Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2008, 05:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire for main panels


I have some wire someone had for a hottub and was wondering if I could use it to run from the main panel in the house to a main panel I will be putting in the garage.I have conduit ran underground from the house to the garage. I want to put a 60 amp breaker in the house and a 60 amp main breaker in the panel in the garage.The wire has this on the sheathing. Essex 6-3G Non Metallic Sheathed Cable Type NM-B 600v. The colors on the wire are red,black,white, and a uncovered ground. Should I get a breaker for the house panel that you can hook both the red and black to and the white and ground to the neutral in the house panel and the red and black to the main breaker in the garage panel and the white to the neutral in the garage and the ground to the seperate ground side of the garage panel? Thanks in advance. This site is awesome for advice and has been very helpful.

scrayzee21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire for main panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by scrayzee21 View Post
I have some wire someone had for a hottub and was wondering if I could use it to run from the main panel in the house to a main panel I will be putting in the garage.I have conduit ran underground from the house to the garage. I want to put a 60 amp breaker in the house and a 60 amp main breaker in the panel in the garage.The wire has this on the sheathing. Essex 6-3G Non Metallic Sheathed Cable Type NM-B 600v. The colors on the wire are red,black,white, and a uncovered ground. Should I get a breaker for the house panel that you can hook both the red and black to and the white and ground to the neutral in the house panel and the red and black to the main breaker in the garage panel and the white to the neutral in the garage and the ground to the seperate ground side of the garage panel? Thanks in advance. This site is awesome for advice and has been very helpful.
You can't use that wire. You must use UF or THWN. That wire should not have been used for a hot tub.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:57 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Wire for main panels


Since you already have the conduit run, I'd pull THWN. A ground rod will also be needed if this garage is detached, as it sounds like it is.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 01:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Wire for main panels


Since your conduit run is underground, it is considered a wet location. The wire used must have a "W" in the designation.
Pull four THWN conductors to the the sub panel. Drive 2 ground rods, keep neutrals and grounds separate. Most THWN is also marked as THHN/THWN.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire layout within panels WoodworkerDave Electrical 9 11-17-2008 10:09 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.