Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2012, 02:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Share |
Question

wire labels


as i'm nearing the end of my wiring project, i realize i have created a monster -- and i have uncontrollable chaos. i recall seeing little write-on self-adhesive laminated tags that wrap around a cable and have enough of a label to write on, kind of like the warnings on blow dryers but you can write on them.

anyone know the specific name for this that i can search online because "electrical label" was too vague, seems like.

my goal is to label every cable every 4-5 ft and know instantly which is which. my cabling is pretty neatly laid out (no intertwining cables or even crossing one another), all as parallel as can be etc. i am pretty OCD but i like that cause i almost get seizures in chaotic situations. everything must be under control...

kind of like what i tried to illustrate
Attached Thumbnails
wire labels-elec_label.jpg  

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

wire labels


Brady makes many label styles. Panduit may also have something to choose from.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,426
Rewards Points: 192
Default

wire labels


A Sharpee works for me. Cheaper and the tags not going to fall off.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-16-2012)
Old 09-16-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
A Sharpee works for me. Cheaper and the tags not going to fall off.
Sharpee on what ? cable itself ? no, i can't write letters that small.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:14 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Sharpee on what ? cable itself ? no, i can't write letters that small.
Really? That's SOP in the trade.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-17-2012)
Old 09-16-2012, 05:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Really? That's SOP in the trade.
what's SOP ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

wire labels


standard operating procedure.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (09-16-2012)
Old 09-16-2012, 06:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire labels


If you can't write that small...just make a chart and number them...every 4-5 feet if you like. Then look at the chart when you want to know what's what.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:11 PM   #9
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire labels


Take a small piece of romex jacket, write on it and slip over the wire. Cheap and big enough to get on most info.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to deverson For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (09-16-2012)
Old 09-16-2012, 10:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
If you can't write that small...just make a chart and number them...every 4-5 feet if you like. Then look at the chart when you want to know what's what.
no sir, that ain't gonna work -- cause there are areas that 6 or more cables are tight together (one in-between joists slot near the panel) and then also numerous holes in joists that have 2-3 cables going through...
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
Take a small piece of romex jacket, write on it and slip over the wire.
huh ??
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:55 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire labels


White electrical tape works nice with a sharpie write on it then cut it off the place the cable in the middle of the tape and fold it in half making the 2 sticky sides stick together around the cable
directvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:33 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire labels


When I worked in a data center, cable management was a huge headache and we tried various methods (labels, bundling, etc.) What worked the best was a clear and updated labels on the main patch panel and corresponding circuit numbers on wires.

I think your intention is good, but some of those tags with strings will invariably get ripped off. If writing small is an issue, I agree with what Missouri Bound said earlier about writing (circuit) numbers.

BTW, don't pack those cables too tight to make them pretty. They generate heat
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:36 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Sharpee on what ? cable itself ? no, i can't write letters that small.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Really? That's SOP in the trade.
I have done this all the time either in USA side or France side.

Use the fine point sharpe marker that work the best if you can write that small.

Or just write the numbers on the cables and next to the stud get larger marker and write it down what they are for.

Normally outside the panel I useally don't mark it beside the number then I go inside the breaker panel and find the numbered sleeve then it will tell what it goes.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:53 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

wire labels


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
my goal is to label every cable every 4-5 ft and know instantly which is which. my cabling is pretty neatly laid out (no intertwining cables or even crossing one another), all as parallel as can be etc. i am pretty OCD but i like that cause i almost get seizures in chaotic situations. everything must be under control...

kind of like what i tried to illustrate
May I ask WHY you are looking to do this??? Is your OCD THAT bad?
Point being, this is a new project, WHEN and how often do you actually think you'll need to trace or troubleshoot these cables??

I understand if it something you really want to do, I am just curious.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.