Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 10:03 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Share |
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sure there is. The white wires under the wire nut are the neutrals (grounded conductors).
The bare wires under the wire nut are the grounding conductors.


Not so fast. Grounding the yokes of switches was not always code required. How do you know how old this installation is?


YES, there is ALWAYS a choice.[ And in this case the choice is to use the grounds.
Connecting the ground to the neutral in a case like this is not only non-complaint it is downright dangerous and stupid.
And please do not tell me anything about them being connected to the same place in the panel.] This is a completely irrelevant point.
Let me clarify. Since the timer needs a NEUTRAL (beside a Ground) to satisfy the NEUTRAL wire. And there is no NEUTRAL conductor in the box, my understanding was that it was suggested to use the GROUNDED lead as a NEUTRAL. Hence I pointed out that it might work but is not up to specs. On the question of knowing the difference bet. a Grounded Neutral in a panel (which is required) and anywhere else (which is dangerous). Man o man... Do I know that. I deal w. such situations almost on a daily basis!!!Don't Drink and Drive!!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:10 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Actually there are both grounding conductors (grounds) and grounded conductors (neutrals) in that box.
See the bare wires spliced and the white wires spliced?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:14 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Actually there are neutrals in the box. Those are the three white wires wire nutted together. If he need a neutral he would just add anther white pigtail to the white wires with the red wire nut.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:29 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Heh heh. The poor guy simply asked:

Quote:
Which of these three wires is the ground?

Instead of answering "None of them. The ground is the bare wire(s)" it spinns of to 3 ways, neutrals, bootlegged grounds and DUI's

Good times.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
switch lacking ground wire anervoustwitch Electrical 17 02-27-2009 04:12 PM
Installing light fixture.....ground wire? yummy mummy Electrical 15 02-19-2009 11:33 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.