Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2009, 04:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Hello,

I am replacing a outside patio light switch with a timer that automatically turns them on and off. At my old house this was an easy task because there were two live wires and the ground was colored green and it was also screwed into the green screw. Well, I'm not so lucky with my new house. All three wires are black. The other problem is that there is no green screw on the switch. So I can't figure out which of the three wires is the ground. I have tried looking for these switches at Lowes and Home Depot with no luck. I tried looking up the brand of switch online for a wiring diagram as well. Maybe you can help me. Which of these three wires is the ground?

THanks
Longboardluv

longboardluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:06 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,252
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


This looks like a three way switch, meaning that none of the three wires is the ground. I will leave it to the pros to discuss what you can do to rewire your circuit to control the light the way you want to.

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:07 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Your ground is the bare copper wire.Looks like i can see it in 3rd pic.The two blacks are feed (120volts )and the other is going to other switch to feed it.

Last edited by 300zx; 06-07-2009 at 05:10 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


in the third pic that is not a bare copper wire. It is paint on top of a black coating. I am attaching two more pics. You can see that that bottom wire goes directly to the bottom of the other switch. The right side switch is one of two that control a interior chandelier.
longboardluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:26 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


you do not have a ground wire connected to the switches. in pic 3 you can see an EGC (equipment grounding conductor; aka; ground)

in between the white and black wires in the background. Is that attached to anything and where is that wire coming from?

.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)



in the picture above I tired to get all three wires in the shot.

I need to give a little more info. The left switch actually turns on a patio light and two lights by our garage. So i believe that wires coming from the bottom of the box could be the garage lights and the ones coming from the top left could be the patio light. This would make the top right wires the chandelier. All three sets of wires have a bare copper wire that all are tied together with the red twister in the bottom of the picture. All three sets of wires have a white wire that are all tied together with the red twister in the top of the picture. Just another note, the top right one from the chandelier has four wires coming out of it but the bottom and top right only have 3 wires.
longboardluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 06:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


On the first switch ,the one on the left in the first picture, the top wire is to the light, the two bottom wires- one is power the other is a power jumper to the next switch. You should wire nut those two along with a pigtail to connect to the new switch. A pig tail should be added to the bare copper wires nutted together and that pigtail tied to the ground screw on the switch. All the connections should be done on the screws. The other switch appears to be a 3-way with the jumper from switch one on the common and two travelers.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 07:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Some switches, like yours, do not have ground terminals.

Put your timer grounds under the red wirenut on the bare wires.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 07:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
[This looks like a three way switch, meaning that none of the three wires is the ground.] I will leave it to the pros to discuss what you can do to rewire your circuit to control the light the way you want to.
I will agree with the Second part of your sentence. i.e. That there is no Ground/ed wire in sight. The First part, that this is a 3-way switch is incorrect. It's a Single Pole switch. What we have here is either a switch that controls two loads. Or it feeds a line downstream. But one of the posters observed another problem (with this Toggle switch) That there is no Ground Terminal! So. This wiring method is not within the requirements of the NEC!

Last edited by spark plug; 06-07-2009 at 07:59 PM. Reason: Clarity of message
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 08:06 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Some switches, like yours, do not have ground terminals.

[Put your timer grounds under the red wirenut on the bare wires.]
...But then we will have a Grounded Neutral. I guess in some cases we have no choice! It'll work. But it's not up to specs.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 08:15 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


The red wire nut with the bare wires is ground not neutral.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 08:30 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
I will agree with the Second part of your sentence. i.e. That there is no Ground/ed wire in sight.
Sure there is. The white wires under the wire nut are the neutrals (grounded conductors).
The bare wires under the wire nut are the grounding conductors.


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
But one of the posters observed another problem (with this Toggle switch) That there is no Ground Terminal! So. This wiring method is not within the requirements of the NEC!
Not so fast. Grounding the yokes of switches was not always code required. How do you know how old this installation is?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
...But then we will have a Grounded Neutral. I guess in some cases we have no choice! It'll work. But it's not up to specs.
YES, there is ALWAYS a choice. And in this case the choice is to use the grounds.
Connecting the ground to the neutral in a case like this is not only non-complaint it is downright dangerous and stupid.
And please do not tell me anything about them being connected to the same place in the panel. This is a completely irrelevant point.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 07:30 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


the house was built in 1998.
longboardluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 01:44 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


See if this helps
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 01:55 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

which wire is the ground? (pics)


wow

thanks. Making that diagram took some effort and i thank you for it.

longboardluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
switch lacking ground wire anervoustwitch Electrical 17 02-27-2009 04:12 PM
Installing light fixture.....ground wire? yummy mummy Electrical 15 02-19-2009 11:33 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.