Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

wire gauge help


What gauge wire do you need for 150 Amps and 200 Amps?

I am just making a chart thanks.

biferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:31 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by biferi View Post
What gauge wire do you need for 150 Amps and 200 Amps?

I am just making a chart thanks.
There is a sacred book Sparkies use. I think they charted and worked out the new round wheel you have in mind.

I hire but do not speak for them. I have heard them speak of amperage and voltage in the same sentence but cannot phathom how to answer your question.

Physics people scare me more. They all wear rubber shoes.

Just to help you. Rock out Dude. 200 amps worth of electricity could run a rock concert. If three phase voltage were on stage.

Answer to your question? 24g, copper or aluminum stranded.


Last edited by user1007; 03-07-2012 at 11:45 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

wire gauge help


According to this link
http://home.earthlink.net/~jimlux/hv/fuses.htm

Practical example> 16 gauge copper wire: Tmelt = 1083, Area = 2581 circ mil, Time = 5 sec,diam = .0524 inches
Using Preece equation:
= 10244*.0524^1.5 = 123 Amps
Using Onderdonk equation:
Ifuse = 2581 * SQRT( LOG((1083-25)/(234-25)+1)/(5*33))
177.7560411
176.9444452
= 178 Amps

#16 AWG will last 5 seconds carrying 178A in free air over some range of currents and times, so you probably want to go heavier than this.

This link
http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
will help you narrow down your options some.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:03 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

wire gauge help


Post your location. It differs between Canada and the US per codes. Can also differ depending on the use. Service entrance can different than sub panel feed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-07-2012), Speedy Petey (03-07-2012)
Old 03-07-2012, 12:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,844
Default

wire gauge help


I believe this is accurate. #4 copper ( or #2 Alum.) for 100 amp; 2/0 copper (or 4/0 Alum.) for 200 amp. Make sure aluminum is legal in your area.

Last edited by jklingel; 03-07-2012 at 12:20 PM.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jklingel For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (03-13-2012)
Old 03-07-2012, 01:26 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jklingel View Post
I believe this is accurate. #4 copper ( or #2 Alum.) for 100 amp; 2/0 copper (or 4/0 Alum.) for 200 amp. Make sure aluminum is legal in your area.
As Joe said, this is for residential services ONLY.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:27 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

wire gauge help


Moved to the Electrical forum.

There is no one wire size for X amps. As the length and how it is to be installed will play a big roll in sizing.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
user1007 (03-07-2012)
Old 03-07-2012, 01:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,844
Default

wire gauge help


Length being important is a good point: I should have included XX size for YY feet.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:52 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

wire gauge help


This can help..look here.

Wire ampacity chart
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere
Moved to the Electrical forum.

There is no one wire size for X amps. As the length and how it is to be installed will play a big roll in sizing.
Yes there is, 4/0 al is able to hold 200a. Now if you decide to do a 1000' run you'll have to upsize, however it's still able to carry 200a.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:24 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Yes there is, 4/0 al is able to hold 200a. Now if you decide to do a 1000' run you'll have to upsize, however it's still able to carry 200a.
You didn't take your masters test yet, did you.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-07-2012), Speedy Petey (03-07-2012), user1007 (03-07-2012)
Old 03-07-2012, 04:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

wire gauge help


xxxxxxxxxxxxx
two screwups are better than one

Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-07-2012 at 05:01 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:59 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

wire gauge help


From
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_wire_gauge
copper, 90C,
a simple formula that gets you very close to these values is
CM = 16.64 x amps^1.7 + 1631

E.g.,
amps = 25
CM= 3959

amps = 95
CM= 38306

amps = 260
CM= 212122

Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-07-2012 at 05:39 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:56 PM   #14
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
two screwups are better than one
Seldom with electricity. I ask again. Amps married to which voltage. The poor boy is just trying to make a chart which I think already exists. Help him out with wire gauge at 200 amps at 24v just for example to turn a landscape light on. How many amps at 12v, and at what wire size does it take to start the engine of a car?

Last edited by user1007; 03-07-2012 at 11:07 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:32 PM   #15
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

wire gauge help


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
Seldom with electricity. I ask again. Amps married to which voltage. The poor boy is just trying to make a chart which I think already exists. Help him out with wire gauge at 200 amps at 24v just for example to turn a landscape light on. How many amps at 12v, and at what wire size does it take to start the engine of a car?
When it comes to amps....voltage is not an issue....100 amps at 12v is no different than 100 amps at 1000v.......it is still 100amps.....now, if your talking watts....big difference....

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Gauge wire with 30amp circuit and Baseboard Heat? RocketManZ Electrical 4 12-17-2011 12:19 PM
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM
Hot Water Heater Wire Gauge bphilip Electrical 16 09-18-2010 07:23 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 09:41 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.