Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 09:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

which wire do you cut


if you have a hot wire and a neutral and a ground wire , and it is hot and you have to cut power quickly.

and you cannot get to the box.

which wire do you cut first, hot or neutral.

thanks .........................Robert

rdtcmtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Can you give the back story on this question first?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:46 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


well it was on a test for a job , and im wanting to know as for safety which wire would you cut, if it was live.

neutrul or the hot one first to break the cuircut.

to me you would cut the hot side but i could be wrong.

Robert
rdtcmtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:04 AM   #4
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Ayuh,.....

I'd cut the Neutral, then the Ground, Then the Hot........
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:08 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,560
Rewards Points: 48
Default

which wire do you cut


Cut the hot and ground together then the breaker will trip and the circuit will safe.
Seriously none. Find the breaker and turn it off.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 02:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Quote:
if you have a hot wire and a neutral and a ground wire , and it is hot and you have to cut power quickly.
Define quickly.

If someone was being electrocuted @ less than 250 volts, I would cut them all and HOPEFULLY trip the breaker.

If you have enough time to make a choice, the obvious choice would be the hot. If you cut the neutral and there is a load you will have 2 "hots".
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:34 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,013
Rewards Points: 4
Default

which wire do you cut


I just gotta know....what employer asked a question like this on a test? Or was this an exam for licensing or was it an exam for school?

The only correct multiple choice answer would be none of the above.


I like this one... If you have 2 hots , a neutral and a ground and you have to cut power quickly and you can't get to the box and all you have on you is your linemans... which wire do you cut first?

Hint:
The hots and neutral are 4/0 al and the ground is 1/0 al and there is a disconnect within 10 feet of you.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 06:29 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


I carry a axe with a fiberglass handle in my tool pouch all of the time just for this situation. I use it to pull the disconnect.
Dilligaf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:22 PM   #9
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Quote:
I carry a axe with a fiberglass handle in my tool pouch all of the time just for this situation. I use it to pull the disconnect.



I thought that was so you could knock the guy off the ladder. Safely.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 06:23 AM   #10
J Calvin Construction
 
jcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Uh....I don't know what the wiring looks like in your area, but, there isn't any way to possibly get to a wire to cut faster than the breaker unless the panel cover is off or you are standing on the power pole. Everything is in pipe around here.
__________________
Cal

You hired WHO?
jcalvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 06:37 AM   #11
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Quote:
Originally Posted by goose134 View Post



I thought that was so you could knock the guy off the ladder. Safely.
I know this isnt electrical related, but this post made me think of when I was a kid.

My dad had a workshop in the basement, and he had been using the table saw. He f-ed up and turned his back after he hit the switch, but because the blade was spinning I thought "hmmm... i'll stop it for him". He realised as soon as he had turned around that I was standing there and there was no blade guard on the saw and saw me going for it... he wasn't close enough to grab me so he grabbed a 2X4 and knocked me over with it. I was pissed that he hit me with it, but he saved me from losing my hand at the ripe old age of 6.

After that, he stopped taking the safety guard off his table saws!
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 02:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
I know this isnt electrical related, but this post made me think of when I was a kid.

My dad had a workshop in the basement, and he had been using the table saw. He f-ed up and turned his back after he hit the switch, but because the blade was spinning I thought "hmmm... i'll stop it for him". He realised as soon as he had turned around that I was standing there and there was no blade guard on the saw and saw me going for it... he wasn't close enough to grab me so he grabbed a 2X4 and knocked me over with it. I was pissed that he hit me with it, but he saved me from losing my hand at the ripe old age of 6.

After that, he stopped taking the safety guard off his table saws!
That explanis a lot.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 05:31 PM   #13
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
That explanis a lot.
Wait a minute...

My dads name is...


Jerry.



Dad? Is that you?


__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 01:56 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

which wire do you cut


Stupid question, especially on a test. It does not matter which wire you cut first. If you have to ask, then you should not be working on a hot circuit to begin with.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 01:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.