Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2008, 11:45 AM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wire colors to a switch


If I use a piece of NM 2 wire to a switch that I am sending 2 hot wires to, is that OK to do if I tape both ends of the white wire with black tape to indicate it is hot?

i.e.

Switch > 2 wire NM > Power > Lights

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 12:20 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wire colors to a switch


Wiring methods aside, you are required to properly color-indicate conductors. If you're using a white wire as a phase conductor, it needs to be colored black or red. Tape is ideal, but many inspectors will allow permanent marker as well, provided the wire in the box is reasonably colored.

Just be sure you're not switching the neutral.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 12:48 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire colors to a switch


Name:  404.2(B).jpg
Views: 152
Size:  42.0 KB...................
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:14 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wire colors to a switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Wiring methods aside, you are required to properly color-indicate conductors. If you're using a white wire as a phase conductor, it needs to be colored black or red. Tape is ideal, but many inspectors will allow permanent marker as well, provided the wire in the box is reasonably colored.

Just be sure you're not switching the neutral.
Thanks. I think I have it right then:


Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:18 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Wire colors to a switch


I have always been told, don't know if it is code or not, to feed the switch with the white and "back on black" with the hot. In your situation it really does not make a difference. If your junction box was a light then you would want to do "back on Black" for there weren't two white wires on the light.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 03:01 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Wire colors to a switch


No Jamie, in your illustration, the white would be re-identified at both ends and hooked to the source black to feed the switch.

Short version of what the '05 NEC says...

200.7 Use of Insulation of a White or Gray Color or with Three Continuous White Stripes.
(A)General. The following shall be used only for the grounded circuit conductor, unless otherwise permitted in 200.7(B) and 200.7(C):
(C) Circuits of 50 volts or more.
(2) Where a cable assembly contains an insulated conductor for single pole, 3-way, or 4-way switch loops and the conductor with white or gray insulation or a marking of three continuous white stripes is used for the supply to the switch but not as a return conductor from the switch to the switched outlet. In these applications, the conductor with white or gray insulation or with three continuous stripes shall be permanently re-identified to indicate its use by painting or other effective means at its terminations and at each location where the conductor is visible and accessible.

I can post the rest of 200.7 if anyone wants to see it...I just didn't want to bore y'all...that bit was bad enough.
In a nutshell...you can only do it with cable (or 200.7(C)(3) is an app for cords), not conduit methods. If the white isn't going to be a neutral as part of the loop, you re-identify it and use it to feed the switch.

SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM
New stove switch doesn't have place for earth wire warrickvdb Electrical 1 05-08-2008 01:18 PM
Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire? twilightcall Electrical 8 01-07-2008 05:27 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.