Wire Chase - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 10:05 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wire chase


HI;

In the basement, (not in the room with the drop ceiling in case you have seen photos I posted). We need to run a number of romex wires across the joists. My dad doesn't want to drill that many holes in his old joists.

What are my options? Can we build some kind of chase out of wood? or just run 2x4's against the floor joists(in the other direction) and wire staple to them?

Or in the best bet to run EMT and just have a box at each joist cavity that has romex?

Thanks
Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:08 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wire chase


Yes you can use 2x4's or strapping and staple the wires to that no problem. All you need is a running board

Advertisement

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:15 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wire chase


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Yes you can use 2x4's or strapping and staple the wires to that no problem. All you need is a running board
What's the minimum size / distance that is needed to met the "protection from physical damage requirement" i.e. stapling to the middle of a 2x4?

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:19 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wire chase


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
What's the minimum size / distance that is needed to met the "protection from physical damage requirement" i.e. stapling to the middle of a 2x4?

Thanks
Jamie
They dont have to be in the middle, you can also buy some wire chaseways from arlington...

http://www.arlcatalog.com/NM%20Cable...t%20System.htm
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 05:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 10:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts