Wire 12/2 Or 14/2?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 10:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


i am going to do electrical for an enclosed screened in deck (16x25).
i want to put 9 outlets, once ceiling fan, and 8 recesses lights.

do i need a 14/2 for the outlets?
a second 14/2 for the ceiling fan (light kit) and 8 recessed lights?

or could i put it all on a 12/2??

also i plan on making fan light a three way switch, recessed not

any help wouild be great.

Advertisement

Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:19 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


I like to run all my outlets with 12-2 and a 20 amp. breaker and 14-2 with 15 amp for the lights.
Reason being that way there will not be an issue if someone wants to run an electric space heater.
Your local codes may call for an arc fault breaker.

Go back and add your location to your profile.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-12-2013)
Old 01-12-2013, 10:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


I took Joes advice about a month ago and ran my recessed lights on 14-2 and 9 outlets on 12-2 with 20 amp recepts for my basement project.
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!

Last edited by Trucon01; 01-12-2013 at 10:27 AM.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:24 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
I like to run all my outlets with 12-2 and a 20 amp. breaker and 14-2 with 15 amp for the lights.
Reason being that way there will not be an issue if someone wants to run an electric space heater.
Your local codes may call for an arc fault breaker.

Go back and add your location to your profile.

and will i be able to run the lights off same wire (3way for fan lights/fan) and one switch for 8 recessed lights. ?

thanks for input!!
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:30 AM   #5
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


Rule of 80, dont exceed and you should be fine.

15A -- 15 * 120 = 1800W * .8 = 1440W
20A -- 20 * 120 = 2400W * .8 = 1920W
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:52 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas View Post
and will i be able to run the lights off same wire (3way for fan lights/fan) and one switch for 8 recessed lights. ?

thanks for input!!
Do you mean 14/2? If so then no, you cannot run a 3-way switch with 14/2. You need 14/3.

I would also keep the lights on a 15A circuit and the receptacles on a 20A. It is MUCH easier to wire the lights/switches with #14 and there is NO reason for a 20A circuit for the lights you are running.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:31 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Do you mean 14/2? If so then no, you cannot run a 3-way switch with 14/2. You need 14/3.

I would also keep the lights on a 15A circuit and the receptacles on a 20A. It is MUCH easier to wire the lights/switches with #14 and there is NO reason for a 20A circuit for the lights you are running.
i have 14/3 for the 3-way, just running 14/2 to first gang spot.
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:00 PM   #8
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 628
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


I seem to recall something about the NEC2008 that required an extra conductor to go to a fan-rated box so that the fan could be switched separately from the light? Normally, that would be 14/3 with say black for the light and red for the fan. However, you want this light to also be a 3-way, so it's a bit more complicated than that...
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:12 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,228
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

Wire 12/2 or 14/2??


Good idea but not a NEC requirement.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting 14/2 wire to knob and tube pinkeo Electrical 5 04-13-2012 10:42 PM
15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals? mnp13 Electrical 10 11-17-2011 04:47 PM
Old 2 wire homerun splicing with new 12/2? buckman Electrical 1 09-22-2011 09:29 AM
14/2 and 12/2 together???? ryan5068 Electrical 15 02-26-2011 06:34 AM
Attaching 12/2 wire to Furring Strips blaze01 Electrical 2 02-17-2010 02:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts