Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 07:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power


Greetings! I am installing a small window A/C unit in my apartment bedroom.
Specs on A/C Unit: 4.8 amps, 115 V, 515 watts (cooling)
The power cord for the A/C unit is too short to reach the plug. I would like to run a surge protector to make up the distance.

The cord on the A/C Unit is sized at: 3x0.824mm(squared) 18AWG.
The breaker plug on the A/C cord itself is rated at: 10 amps, 120VAC, 1200 watts.

I purchased a surge protector rated at: 15 amps, 120VAC, 1800 watts. The actual surge protector cord is sized at: 3x2.08mm(squared) 14AWG.

So I have an A/C pulling low amps on an 18AWG cord. Is it safe to say that the surge protector I have is more than adequate to handle this unit since the surge protector cord is bigger than the A/C cord? I will only be running the unit when I am home in the evenings and not all the time (weekends will vary)

Thanks for the help.

JayEnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 07:50 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power


Yes your fine.

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project adding 3-phase power to a tenant finish project bnharbor Electrical 5 11-11-2010 05:39 AM
Sizing Window AC For Open Room appleye1 HVAC 17 07-29-2010 10:00 AM
New control unit, but AC still not working AiR_GuNNeR HVAC 2 06-23-2010 07:51 PM
Emergency power backup via power inverter upabove Electrical 14 06-08-2010 11:18 PM
Recepticle doesn't have enough power? slaya Electrical 4 03-14-2009 09:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.