Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 02:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Will this work?


The switch is basically end of run.



sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:37 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Will this work?


The black and white wires are reversed. White of the switch loop goes to the hot lead at the GFCI receptacle.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
micromind (11-15-2012), sirsparksalot (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 08:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Will this work?


Or rather, the switched hot coming back to the load (light, receptacle, etc.) may not be white.

For the 2011 National Electrical Code, neutral must be taken out to the switch, necessitating, here, a 3 conductor cable. This renders academic the question of which hot conductor gets the white wire. Use red and black (doesn't matter which) for raw hot and switched hot.

The neutral is left curled up inside the switch box for future use.

Yes it will work without neutral at the switch box, given an ordinary toggle switch as opposed to a motion detector or some kinds of dimmers that need neutral to operate.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-15-2012 at 08:57 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 09:54 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,178
Rewards Points: 2,266
Default

Will this work?


Make sure the hot and neutral to the switch and light both come off the line or load side of the GFCI.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-15-2012)
Old 11-15-2012, 10:14 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Will this work?


OK, so is this the correct interpretation? Changes indicated in red.

RJ, yours is interesting; inasmuch as I don't need to use any of the LOAD side for connections? Or did I misunderstand that?




Terry

Last edited by sirsparksalot; 11-15-2012 at 11:00 AM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contractor didn't start work in CT - What recourse do I have? ControlTech Off Topic 3 09-28-2010 02:45 AM
grounding the workpiece you're welding jarnold Electrical 41 09-08-2010 08:33 AM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 08:15 AM
Need help with permit/city got a Stop Work Order. amdspitfire General DIY Discussions 39 02-07-2008 03:45 PM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.