Will Splice Cause Voltage Drop? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 12:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


I'm about 10 feet short on my 200 foot run of #6 aluminum wire feeding a subpanel. I only need 25 amps but I'm worried that if I splice on the 10 feet that I need that I'll have too much voltage drop.

Any need for worry? How is the best way to splice, with copper or stick with aluminum?

Advertisement

JPsAlias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:25 PM   #2
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPsAlias View Post
I'm about 10 feet short on my 200 foot run of #6 aluminum wire feeding a subpanel. I only need 25 amps but I'm worried that if I splice on the 10 feet that I need that I'll have too much voltage drop.

Any need for worry? How is the best way to splice, with copper or stick with aluminum?
The voltage drop due to a splice should be negligible if done correctly.

Use a splicing means that is compatible with AL conductors.

Advertisement

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:01 PM   #3
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


whatever you do do NOT use disimilar materials. IF you have copper stay copper, or alum to alum
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:31 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


unless this is underground, direct burial, the splice must be in a junction box as well.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 05:31 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
unless this is underground, direct burial, the splice must be in a junction box as well.
And it must remain accessible. You can't bury a junction box inside a wall.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 06:12 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


I agree with nap and joed both.

If this is direct burial cable you can get a direct burial splice kit for it.

If it is conduit you MUST have the splice accessible in a junction box. You CANNOT splice inside conduit
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Will splice cause voltage drop?


Thanks guys - very helpful!

Advertisement

JPsAlias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage Drop Issues sushiboy Electrical 12 04-03-2008 10:01 PM
voltage drop HandyAl Electrical 7 02-13-2008 06:50 PM
Questions about major voltage drop. jdh321 Electrical 6 11-13-2007 08:50 PM
Voltage Drop Manuel6 Electrical 1 01-16-2007 06:20 PM
Voltage Drop between switch and fixtures CaptMike Electrical 1 06-24-2005 10:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts