Will This GFCI Outlet Setup Work - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

will this GFCI outlet setup work


Currently I have a duplex outlet that is controlled by a wall switch.
There is 12-2 bringing power in then 12-2 to a switch. The switch is several feet away if that matters. I want to add a GFCI outlet several feet away that is always on. I do not want the GFCI controlled by the switch.

Will the way I have the GFCI added in work? Or will this way keep tripping the GFCI everytime I flip the switch for the normal duplex?
Attached Thumbnails
will this GFCI outlet setup work-gfi-20setup.jpg  

Advertisement

collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

will this GFCI outlet setup work


Looks good from this angle.

Advertisement

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:41 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

will this GFCI outlet setup work


It look good however the question is where is being used in ?

Living room or what ?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:43 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

will this GFCI outlet setup work


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
It look good however the question is where is being used in ?

Living room or what ?
An attached garage.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

will this GFCI outlet setup work


All garage recepts need to be GFI protected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet Inside Vanity Cabinet - Does It Need To Be GFCI? LowlyDIYer Electrical 18 02-05-2012 09:41 AM
10 amp Vacuum popping GFCI Outlet brgmgb Electrical 19 12-29-2011 11:45 PM
Porch outlet, and livingroom on bathroom GFCI circuit? Is that uncommon? 211 Electrical 5 01-06-2011 03:13 PM
cant figure out why the outlet wont work jamjar Electrical 6 09-16-2009 03:17 PM
Problems with GFCI Outlet FieldersChoice Electrical 11 01-04-2009 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts