Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


I recently got a bunch of high amp circuit breakers from someone and am planning on selling them, but I am a little worried about the liability. If a circuit breaker works in the sense that it can draw power, is it safe to assume that it would shut off if there is overcurrent to it?
theracoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,235
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


nope
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (07-19-2012)
Old 07-19-2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,450
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


A quick web search on Federal Pacific (FPE) panels will show the potential problem. Here's a video of another old brand of breaker not functioning:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMV1jmDn3o4
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 02:07 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,674
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


If they are new I woild sell "as is". If used I would not.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 02:36 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


The theroy says it should, but the reality is, used breakers should be dumped unelss you have the equipment to test and certify them.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Will a circuit breaker always cut off if there is overcurrent to it


[A sample of] new breakers are tested at the factory for 10,000 tries.
You could test your breakers 100 times and still not be sure they will work on the 101st try.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunrise_problem

BTW, consecutive successes with no failure is "right censored data", so to do the reliability calcs I guess they assume it would have failed on the 10,000 plus 1 try.

But, how often will a house breaker be called upon to trip?
This is the "mission length"; how reliable is a breaker that fails in less than 10,000 attempts when it only needs to work on 1 or 10 or 30 overloads?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-19-2012 at 03:16 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Voltage at circuit breaker terminals MrO Electrical 13 05-09-2012 08:38 PM
New wiring tripping breaker on another circuit? Kinggofg Electrical 11 04-26-2012 01:36 AM
Backfeed Circuit Breaker Knucklehead_BW Electrical 13 01-11-2012 09:17 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.