Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 12:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 6
Share |
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


GFCI outlets have two holes for incoming hot wires on the line side. Why would you need to have power supplied twice? Yes, I am sure this is probably a dumb question.

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 12:55 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 766
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


You might want to feed power through the GFCI to the rest of the circuit, without actually protecting it on the load side of the GFCI. Just like when you wire a circuit using both sets of screw terminals on a standard receptacle.

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


in other words, only one screw gets power. the other "feeds" power to other devices down stream.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


Not exactly sure what you are referring to but I can give you 2 reasons.

1-Assuming this is just the "line side" of the GFI, then the two holes are for two wires. You are not feeding it twice, you are bringing in the power and using the GFI as a splice point for power out on another wire. The wire going out is NOT GFI protected.

2-Assuming the two holes are (1) "Line Side" and (2) "Load Side" - one hole is for incoming power and the other is for feeding a circuit as protected by that GFI.
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


To send power downstream I am used to just using a pigtail and making one connection to the outlet. I think you are ll saying I can send power in and then pass power downstream (unprotected) using the second set of holes on the line side.

I just saw a GFCI that had two sets of wires going into the line and two sets of wires going out from the load. What were they trying to accomplish?
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 08:54 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Why two holes for GFCI hot


Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post
GFCI outlets have two holes for incoming hot wires on the line side. Why would you need to have power supplied twice? Yes, I am sure this is probably a dumb question.
You're not feeding it twice, you are using the device as a splice.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help caulking and filling nail holes in my trim hadees Painting 13 11-25-2012 10:32 PM
Freestanding deck with water in the holes. HHHEEEELLLPPP bassheadjohn Concrete, Stone & Masonry 28 08-23-2012 09:19 PM
Is tape necessary to repair holes in drywall (in garage)? Scotch99 Drywall & Plaster 4 08-22-2011 01:08 PM
Series of holes in periphery of basement slab BalowskiJ Building & Construction 4 04-18-2011 01:49 PM
Alternatives for fixing holes in tile roof felt Squash_Pro Roofing/Siding 4 05-13-2010 06:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.