Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2007, 05:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Share |
Default

Why a switch ?


Greetings--

Recently purchased 8 yr old house in Texas. When we checked the house out, the dishwasher worked.

We just moved in and the dishwasher wasnt working. But-- after looking around, I found tha one of the three switches on the wall turned the power to that plug on ! One's the disposal, one's a light and the other is the dishwasher's plug !

I thought that's bit odd eh ? I mentioned it to some folks at work and two of them said their houses did the same thing.

Whats up with putting a switched outlet for the dishwasher ????

Piney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 12:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Default

Why a switch ?


You got me! Maybe the last guy that owned the house liked putting switches in. I know someone who learned how to put in duplex wall receptacles and was so please with himself that he put them in every two feet in a large recreational room. He didn't know how to do anything else. When his wife came home she was so upset with him that she called an electrician in to take out half of them and then called a dry wall guy to repair the walls. He's the same guy that tried to fix a leaking faucet in the bathroom and ended up calling in a plumber to fix the faucet and the shower fixture that he thought he could also repair. This guy happens to be my brother!

sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 01:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Default

Why a switch ?


My 2 year old loves to play with D/W buttons which sometimes will turn it on. Backsplash switches, however, are out of her reach.
scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 03:05 PM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Why a switch ?


There is a possibility that it is a requirement in your jurisdiction. Although not required by the NEC, lots of little towns, counties, parrishes, as well as entire states like to monkey with the code and add addendums.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 07:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Default

Why a switch ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scorrpio View Post
My 2 year old loves to play with D/W buttons which sometimes will turn it on. Backsplash switches, however, are out of her reach.

Now that's a thought-- Not a bad idea if younguns are around.

I'll wire around it and put it back in service when we move in a few yrs.
Piney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 11:23 PM   #6
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Default

Why a switch ?


I believe that the new NEC calls for a disconnect for dishwashers and hardwired appliances. Some contractors are installing toggle switches for this purpose.
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 02:38 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,985
Default

Why a switch ?


The NEC does require a form of disconnect for permanently connected appliances that are over 300VA or 1/8 hp. A wall switch or a circuit breaker with in sight of the appliance or if not in sight the breaker must be capable of being locked in the off position. Unless it is motor driven,,,ie,,, a dishwasher then it must be within sight.

A dishwasher that is cord and plug is permitted and can serve as the disconnect but the power cord must be approved (listed) for the specific appliance. Cord must not be more than 3 to 4 feet long.

A controller switch (unit switch) that disconnects all ungrounded conductors located on the appliance can also be a disconnect in the right conditions.


Suggest reading NEC 422.16 thru 422.34 as this is rather foggy .. IMO.

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 10-01-2007 at 02:49 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:11 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Why a switch ?


that he put them in every two feet in a large recreational room.

You can NEVER have too many outlets in a rec room.
Arcade games, stereo, neon lights, I think he was planing ahead.

MadBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 06:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.