Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2008, 08:42 PM   #1
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Why not Romex in Conduit?


I am planning to run power to my backyard tool shed, and in doing my homeowrk I see that you are supposed to use UF wire buried at 24" or STRANDED wire in conduit at 18"

almost everyplace i look it specifically says NOT to use romex in conduit, but it doesn't say why.

I plan on doing this right, so I will use stranded wire, but I am very curious as to the reason you aren't supposed to use romex, can somebody "shed some light" on this?

Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 08:46 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Why not Romex in Conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Chips View Post
I am planning to run power to my backyard tool shed, and in doing my homeowrk I see that you are supposed to use UF wire buried at 24" or STRANDED wire in conduit at 18"

almost everyplace i look it specifically says NOT to use romex in conduit, but it doesn't say why.

I plan on doing this right, so I will use stranded wire, but I am very curious as to the reason you aren't supposed to use romex, can somebody "shed some light" on this?

UF is allowed in conduit, but normal NM is not allowed in wet locations, conduit installed outdoors and underground meet this criteria.


Also, here are the depth requirements...

Name:  300.5.jpg
Views: 790
Size:  57.7 KB

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 09:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Why not Romex in Conduit?


The 2002 edition of the NEC can be interpreted as prohibiting the use of NM cable (Romex) in conduit. As I understand it, this was a result of miscommunication between the code-making panels that write the code, rather than a deliberate prohibition. The 2005 NEC clearly allows NM cable to be run in conduit. However, NM can't be used in wet locations. The inside of a conduit in a wet location is considered a wet location.
Matsukaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:58 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Why not Romex in Conduit?


While NM in conduit is allowed, it is not practical for most applications. It can't get wet and it is very difficult to pull multiconductor cables into conduit. Especially UF. Another thing to remember is that NM and UF have a large surface area, and could violate the conduit fill requirement. It's better to use individual conductors in conduit and if buried or outside the conductors must be rated for wet duty. THWN would most likely be what you will use. The "W" in the wire description is for wet locations. THHN is usually dual rated THHN/THWN.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
Pvc Conduit bobo60 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.