Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2009, 06:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden City, Mi
Posts: 14
Share |
Post

Why just wall outlets out???


Last night I turned off the portable A/C unit and turned on the window fan. All was fine, but within 1 minute the power in the room went out. The ceiling light still works, but not any of the wall outlets. None of the circuit breakers were tripped but I reset them anyway. No results. This is the first time I have been unable to fix this by resetting a circuit breaker.Any ideas? History of the electrical in this area: this bedroom, bathroom and half of another bedroom seem to be on the same circuit so overload is easy. Unable to use hairdryer in bathroom!

dferber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 06:34 AM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Why just wall outlets out???


Bath should be on it's own circuit gfci. Have you taken any outlets out are they stabed in the back? Or wraped around the screws? Sounds like prob stab in the back find the closest one working and take out (turn off power) And check to see if the wire came out I would wrap around screws,Stab in don't hold

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:23 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden City, Mi
Posts: 14
Default

Why just wall outlets out???


Fixed! Found one GFI outlet that needed to be reset. Whew....
dferber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:26 AM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Smile

Why just wall outlets out???


Good Job
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:14 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Why just wall outlets out???


That good you found the GFCI however I suggest that not too far in futrue you will have to get the situation taken care of it and per NEC code the bathroom recepatle must be on it own circuit.

so something you may want to do it when next pretty big project come up and some case it pretty easy to add new cable in without tearing up much drywall at all.

If you want to go that route just ask us one of us will steer you in correct way.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loads on a partition wall acyate Building & Construction 8 02-28-2009 11:02 PM
Outlets on both sides of wall? and height question DIYGST Electrical 10 02-08-2009 06:11 PM
~HELP~ Basement Wall is bowing earthad1 Building & Construction 6 06-05-2008 12:24 PM
This is not a load-bearing wall, right? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 4 01-07-2007 03:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.