Why Does My Radial Arm Saw Keep Tripping The Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2009, 06:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Why does my radial arm saw keep tripping the breaker?


My radial arm saw (11 amp motor) often trips the circuit breaker(15 amps)
Any thoughts why?
Thanks
Dennis

Advertisement

djtjak43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Why does my radial arm saw keep tripping the breaker?


We had this problem already. The "often" is the key. Half the time the saw will be turned on at the peak of the AC waveform.

As a test, put the saw at the end of a small gauge extension cord. You're adding series resistance to the circuit.

There is also a table of allowable extension cord lengths vs. allowable gauge numbers in your saw manual. #10 is 2 milliohms/ft, #12 is 3.2, #14 is 5.2.
See the table halfway down the link
http://www.magnet.fsu.edu/usershub/s...ensioncord.pdf

Another way that should work to reduce this problem is to spin the saw blade [careful] in the correct direction before turning on the motor.

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-14-2009 at 06:23 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Why does my radial arm saw keep tripping the breaker?


High output electric motors often draw more than their amperage rating on startup, also known as "in rush".
In the central vac industry in the late 90's this caused several years of turmoil as there were numerous underated relays burning out, a problem caused by new higher rpm motors, high output motors being used due to increased home sizes.
Add in rush to an extension cord or another device on the line and there goes your breaker....
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Main breaker keeps tripping beckyreyes Electrical 12 08-11-2013 05:06 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 03:29 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 02:47 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
HW tank breaker tripping arichard21 Electrical 6 10-31-2007 05:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts