Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2007, 01:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


i went to turn on the lights in my livingroom but there was what appeared to be a surge and the lights went out in the livingroom and diningroom, so i went to reset the breaker but the breaker did not trip, so i remove the light switch and found 120 on both my hot and neutral, i checked my light fixture and i was reading the same 120 when checking to ground, and every outlet and every fixture was the same, why is this please help

kenny357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 02:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


When you say that you found 120 volts on both hot and neutral, do you mean that both hot and neutral had 120 volts over ground? Or do you mean there was 120 volts between hot and neutral?

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 02:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


i found 120 over ground
kenny357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 02:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


so hot and neutral were BOTH 120 over ground?

Did you measure between neutral and hot?
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 03:15 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


Open neutral! Anybody?? I would shut off breaker and start checking the circuit.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 03:23 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,978
Default

why do i have voltage on both wires but no lights


Andy....Yes open neutral. Depending on his tester 120 volts neutral to ground is an expected reading. He has power to the receptacle so his branch circuit gounded leg (Neutral) is open. He needs to check as you advised. Probably a bad backstab on a receptacle.

Stubbie

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-29-2007 at 03:27 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage leaking Legrand Electrical 3 05-09-2007 05:43 AM
Low voltage to vacuum l.schrankel@comcast.net Electrical 2 03-04-2007 09:38 AM
Voltage Drop Manuel6 Electrical 1 01-16-2007 05:20 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.