Why Did My Outlet Lose Power? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 01:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


When my contractor tore out the tile in my kitchen he took the outlets out of the box (without disconnecting them). That should not have created a problem. However, I lost power in three outlets on the same wall. Two of them were not touched by the contractor. No breaker was tripped. He checked the panel and all breakers are okay. It is an older house and there are no GFI outlets. He said to hire an electrician to find the problem since he couldn't. Any Suggestions?

Advertisement

chuckr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:28 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


if there are any joints in the wires in the boxes he pulled the receptacles out, he may have cause the connection to open. I would start with turning off the breaker to those receptacles and remake the joints in the boxes, turn the breaker back on and check.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
chuckr (01-26-2011)
Old 01-26-2011, 10:16 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


I removed the outlet and checked the wire. No power.
chuckr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:21 AM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


You have an open circuit, not sure how you are going to ensure the power is off to those circuit touched by the contractor, but what you are going to have to do is wire nut, black to black, white to white, upstream from the recepticles that are no longer powered.

Careful the first black wire in the chain will be hot!
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,835
Rewards Points: 1,184
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


Do you know for certain which breaker the affected receptacles are on? If not, I would swich all of them off, and back on, one at a time, to be sure that you check the affected circuit. It is not terribly uncommon for a breaker to trip, and still not appear to be fully off.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Why did my outlet lose power?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckr View Post
When my contractor tore out the tile in my kitchen he took the outlets out of the box (without disconnecting them). That should not have created a problem. However, I lost power in three outlets on the same wall. Two of them were not touched by the contractor. No breaker was tripped. He checked the panel and all breakers are okay. It is an older house and there are no GFI outlets. He said to hire an electrician to find the problem since he couldn't. Any Suggestions?
Are you sure there arenít any GFI outlets anywhere like out outdoors, garage, bathroom etc. On some rare occasions there are some on the exterior. Some where, one of those GFCI receptacles has tripped. I would start the search in the garage. 90% are there.


Advertisement

epson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI outlet failed in a rain storm, now has no power! Kaybee33 Electrical 5 12-28-2010 06:38 PM
How to Install Recessed Power Outlet in Floor harlandave Electrical 3 06-19-2010 03:07 AM
Power through outlet to two single pole switches aaronmoon Electrical 2 08-12-2009 09:29 AM
Only one outlet will power treadmill? archer75 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 01:20 AM
distance to a power outlet amakarevic Electrical 4 12-19-2008 07:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts